Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Disaster Darling ! 

I’m always busy here with some crazy project. And in general they’re very interesting projects. 

But once in a while something goes wrong. 

The other day whilst up to my knees in weeds I decided on a cunning plan to make use of them. 

Then I made a lively jam from pansies. But unfortunately my other project didn’t turn out so well. 

In the process of my weeding I had quite a big collection of dandelions. Now I’ve regularly heard that the whole flower can be used. So I decided that drying the roots to make dandelion coffee was a good plan. 

 
We gathered a good haul and I got help from the bee keeper who scrubbed them. 

Then onto a baking tray for a few hours at a low temperature. 

  
Then I got busy with the coffee grinder. It smelt lovely. And it became a good powder quite quickly. 

  
I sieved the larger bits out and reground them. 

Then the moment of truth. 

 (Drum roll please)

 

Into a cup, add hot water, steep for three minutes. 

Bleurgh!

It has to be about the most bitter thing I’ve ever tasted. It was like drinking an emetic!

Yeuch!

I tried adding milk and sugar!

Still bleurgh!

I wish there were another way to use it. It took quite a bit of effort to make but it’s revolting as coffee! 

Have you had any disasters when trying something new? 

12 comments on “Disaster Darling ! 

  1. Ellen Hawley
    June 7, 2015

    I’ve read that some part of the dandelion can be used as a dye. Not sure, though, whether it’s the root or the flower or the bad attitude.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    June 7, 2015

    Thank you for saving me the trouble, I guess. Not that I would have tried it, being more of a tea person. Which reminds me, I intend to try some tissanes this summer from the garden and wherever I’m fairly sure dogs haven’t peed.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Zoe
    June 7, 2015

    Lol ahh well its all the fun of the experiment…I can’t think off the top of my head but I’m sure there will be similar stories as I’m an experimenter too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rustbeltvegetarian
    June 7, 2015

    Many wild edible plants become bitter or unpalatable during flowering to discourage animals from feeding on them. Plants such as dandelion and chicory (and other related plants) also store inulin in the roots during cold weather, which makes the roots sweeter. Try harvesting the roots in the fall or in late-winter. I’ve done the same thing with fall harvested chicory roots and it made a very nice tea, far better and more flavorful then the roasted chicory roots I’ve bought commercially. I’d give it another try in the fall, good luck!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      June 7, 2015

      That’s so reassuring. I thought I’d gone completely mad. Thinking about it they were all very new plants! I might try again!

      Like

  5. Hilda
    June 7, 2015
  6. Pingback: Disaster Darling !  | Green Lizard’s Blog | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  7. suchled
    June 8, 2015

    I made some and it was quite good. Bitter but OK. Two things if you use the very small roots they are much more bitter and you have to roast them until they go very brown. Oh, and grind them in the food processor first.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 8, 2015

      That’s really good to know. I’ve now heard from another source that older roots are better too. Might try again!

      Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2015 by in allotment, grow your own, home made, homestead, self sufficiency and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 58,037 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,566 other subscribers

Instagram photos

No Instagram images were found.

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Suzy Becqué Nutrition

Plantbased Health Coach & Recipe Creator

Expat Since Birth – A Life spent "abroad"

a blog by a multilingual lifelong expat/international, linguist, researcher, speaker, mother of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about raising children with multiple languages, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Computational Fairy Tales

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Rowan McCabe

and that...

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.