Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Perennial Vegetables-keep growing!

I’m reading a book at the moment. Martin Crawford has written this very useful book about Perennial vegetables.

The perennial vegetable is one that is there all the time. Commonly we tend to grow vegetables that we plant every year and harvest every year and start again every year!

That’s a lot of work!

You may have noticed by reading this blog I don’t like a lot of work and if there is a lazy option then I’m always keen to try it!

20140525-163305-59585744.jpg

There is the added advantage of finding out about vegetables that I’ve never heard of too!

I’m also learning about some different flowers and things that are not vegetables that I can add to the allotment, lupins for example which will benefit the bees while adding nitrogen to the soil.

So far I’ve already added asparagus and horse radish and wild garlic as permanent plants and they seem to be doing really well.

There’s insect attracting plants like Comfrey and Borage which have already written about too.

20140525-163729-59849180.jpg

I’m experimenting this year with hand sown scorzonera, a root vegetable which also has tasty leaves, and sea kale for its leaves. And I managed to source the curiously named walking onion.

I’m enjoying the book which is well laid out with useful photographs and diagrams.

It has permaculture principals throughout which is another bonus for my own knowledge.

Maybe put it on your Christmas list!

20140525-164103-60063637.jpg

20 comments on “Perennial Vegetables-keep growing!

  1. litadoolan
    May 31, 2014

    This is a great idea to get an ongoing crop. Thanks for posting this suggestion. I guess you would plant these in the Autumn ready for a Spring crop so there’s enough time to plan a few more pots to my patio! In other news my rhubarb is gigantic this year. It gets bigger each season. I’m guessing these perennials would grow stronger too. Book looks great!

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 1, 2014

      Some things plant at different times and some are similar to annuals and crop in the first season it depends. Good news about the rhubarb!

      Like

      • litadoolan
        June 1, 2014

        This timing thing to be honest is where I sometimes fall at the first hurdle! And then if you get it wrong it can put you off. Thankfully your blog has re engaged with gardening by keeping it fun and easy! 😉 I will read a bit more into perennials and pick out a few easy choices!

        Like

      • lizard100
        June 1, 2014

        It really is good to have some permanent things. Glad you’re finding it useful. I’m away just now. Can’t wait to see the progress in the garden.

        Like

      • litadoolan
        June 1, 2014

        Whoop! 😉

        Like

  2. Expat Eye
    May 31, 2014

    I never noticed that you didn’t like hard work – you’re ALWAYS working!

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 1, 2014

      Ach! Just a big ole lazy bones me!

      Like

      • Expat Eye
        June 1, 2014

        And a q-tip – you always need a q-tip! 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        June 1, 2014

        Nah ‘only put things in you ear bigger than yer elbow’ Irish blessing.

        Like

      • Expat Eye
        June 1, 2014

        Ha ha! My grandaunt used to say that!! Then my mother!

        Like

      • lizard100
        June 1, 2014

        I know. It’s a classic!

        Like

  3. lindaswildlifegarden
    May 31, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post thank you for sharing Liz have BLESSED EVENING

    Like

  4. lizard100
    May 31, 2014

    I honestly do sleep a lot.

    Like

  5. Rambling Woods
    May 31, 2014

    Hmmmm…. A book to add to my list….

    Like

  6. silverbells2012
    May 31, 2014

    Yep, like the sound of perennial vegetables. Only recently realised they existed but this book looks good 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 1, 2014

      It’s great to grow things that come back every year.

      Like

  7. survivalgardener
    November 11, 2014

    We’re using perennial vegetables in our garden/homestead in Costa Rica. There are a TON of warm climate perennial vegetables. We can hardly keep up eating everything…..what a great problem…haha I’m currently trying to build a database of plants that grow well in my area and building what I call a “survival garden”. Feel free to check out the site http://survivalgardener.com I think more folks should investigate these sorts of plants. They could be a solution to malnutrition in the rough spots around the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 11, 2014

      Sounds really great. We were lucky enough to visit costa rica last year.

      Like

      • survivalgardener
        November 11, 2014

        We’re up in the NW pacific side. It gets really hot and really dry. The best place to grow is in the central valley. But……no beach there!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2014 by in allotment, permaculture and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,712 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

