Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

My wardrobe is still dying: No 3

I noticed that my blog posts on dying clothes are popular.

my wardrobe is dying

I often get anxious comments about my dyed clothes and how to use this technique.

“When I dyed something it was streaky.”

When I use a washing machine dye there are a number of key things to remember.

Top Tip 1
Prevent patchy or streaky dying by making sure you dye damp fabric. If the fabric is damp when the dye hits it then it’s going to be more consistent. If fabric is dry then the fabric may access the dye in patches.

When I dyed something it all washed out the next time.

Top Tip 2
You need half a kilo of salt to ‘fix’ the dye. This is added to the drum of the machine on top of the dye at the beginning.

In this photo I’m pouring the salt over the dye in the drum of the machine.

20140415-074656.jpg

I’m worried the washing machine will be stained by the dye.

Top Tip 3
Always run another wash straight after the dye wash. The manufacturer recommends you put the dyed clothes through a normal wash straight away.

( I don’t necessarily (very bad) but I DO run another wash of dark clothes straight afterwards.) The one time I didn’t, the rubber seal became marked but it wasn’t a major thing.

To illustrate my point here’s today’s dye project.

I had a pink corduroy skirt that I like the style of but the colour doesn’t work with many other clothes I own. Plus I’m not buying new clothes any more so I need to work with what I have.

20140415-074543.jpg

I’ve been getting into dark grey. So I bought an antique grey dye. Rather than only dying one item I had a vest that had suffered from something red in a wash, a mustard top that a friend didn’t want and a white top with nice detail that needed a new colour.

I’d also found some underwear that was pale pink or white and never worn. The combined weight of these garments was good.

Top Tip 4
The dry weight of the fabric is important. If you dye too much fabric you will have a paler result. If you want a paler colour then that’s fine. If you need to dye something that weighs more consider using two packs of dye. You still only need 500g of salt.

Top Tip 5
Use normal domestic salt. It’s only 20 cents a kg. ‘special’ dying salt costs a euro or more per 500g.

What if it doesn’t work?

Top Tip 6
Always read the label. The best fabric to dye is 100% cotton or linen or viscose. Blends of different fabrics will take some colour but synthetics don’t normally change.

Top Tip 7
If a garment already has a colour of its own your result will be a combination of the dye with that colour. It may be a surprise how it turns out. Patterns can also create some weird results.

Top Tip 8
Read the instructions!

So the machine has run it’s course and other washing is now in.

The dryer on the balcony and the gleaming sun have done their bit.

The results are in.

Excruciating pause

Drumroll

20140415-090608.jpg

I’m really pleased with the skirt and shirt. The skirt had an embroidered pattern on it that now shows up in a brocade way. Thread with dye is often not cotton. So it doesn’t take colour.
This can create different affects. The buttons on the shirt are now a contrast too.

The underwear is now wearable. Dark grey with trendy pink edging.

The other two tops are different. The ginger one is now a khaki colour with contrast ginger button.

20140415-091259.jpg

When I dyed that coat I was nervous because it had a special finish. But as a clever Refashionista suggested:

if you won’t wear it as it is, what do you have to lose?

19 comments on “My wardrobe is still dying: No 3

  1. P.E.A.C.E.
    April 16, 2014

    Thank for these excellent tips and pics! Love the buttons showing up brightly. What great encouragement for us all to limit (or eliminate) new purchases and use what we have. Cheers, Gina

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 16, 2014

      Thanks Gina. I love it. A patterned skirt I dyed yesterday looks completely different now. And I know it’s the only one like it in the world.

      Like

  2. Rambling Woods
    April 16, 2014

    They look really good…. Hmmmm… I should try this, but I donated clothes that I didn’t feel looked right anymore after the mastectomy, but I think I over reacted….

    Like

    • lizard100
      April 17, 2014

      It’s a process. I often think of things that I no longer have that I could’ve ‘improved’. Sounds to me like you were moving forwards. : )

      Like

  3. litadoolan
    August 16, 2014

    such a great tip for clothes I am not wearing for almost a year now! there is nothing to lose. I love your results. Great unique colour and unlike the majority of the high street (win!). I may try using dye in a bowl overnight first.

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 16, 2014

      Be careful with bowls. It can give you a blotchy effect. This is good if you like it. Stirring a lot does make the colour more even. But remember what do you have to loose? If you don’t wear it now and the fabric is suitable for dying give it a go!

      Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        Ah I see yes blotchy will be the result with bowls. I am going to dye some of my cotton sun dresses cerise. I love that colour and they are faded pastel right now.

        You should put all your take action posts into an eBook at some point! It would be a best seller! Happy Sunday.

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        Thanks very much. I want to think about ebooks one day. Dying pastels is such a great option. It can really hanger your summer wardrobe.

        Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        I think also a cotton dress in a darker colour will look great in early Autumn too. Good inspiration in your blog!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        If the original colours are varied then one dye will give a range of results. Don’t forget you can dye patterned fabrics too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        Ah that’s interesting. Yes one dress has a chequered pattern. I think it will work well 😉 the original colours are faded so it needs a boost!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        Perfect! You’ll have to blog about it…..

        Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        Good call! ;-D

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        Get it could be a guest post on my blog and I could do Romeo for yours! Is that a crazy idea?

        Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        Let me write it first though!! I am just not as prolific as terrific team Lizard100! You guys rock the blogs!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        Well I think that’s a possibility. No pressure. : ) Shakespeare is September 5th I think. So there’s time. Thanks for supporting my crazy madcap blogging world

        Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        OK I guess I can dye something and write about it by then! Thanks for the nudge. (as long as I can weave in a bit about how dyeing might have been done in the ancient times because for some reason I’m really drawn to 17th century at the moment!!). If that works then yay! Will let you know how I’m doing with it. I would love to put your write up about Romeo and Juliet on my blog – it sounds exciting – and i could write a few lines at the bottom of your post about how supercool your blog is! Rocking!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 17, 2014

        I think we have a plan. I’d live it to have a historical aspect too.

        Like

      • litadoolan
        August 17, 2014

        😀

        Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by in home made, Refashion and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 58,022 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,566 other subscribers

Instagram photos

No Instagram images were found.

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Suzy Becqué Nutrition

Plantbased Health Coach & Recipe Creator

Expat Since Birth – A Life spent "abroad"

a blog by a multilingual lifelong expat/international, linguist, researcher, speaker, mother of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about raising children with multiple languages, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Computational Fairy Tales

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Rowan McCabe

and that...

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.