Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Double Dipping: Ad-dressing a small problem!

I’m not into white. It’s not my colour. I look sick in it!

And then I usually spill something on it or sit on a seat covered in chocolate.

(You saw that coat!
Not pretty!)

So what happens when I try a different colour of garment from my usual purple and I end up looking like this?

20140325-183235.jpg

I don’t like it!

But I have a solution!

20140325-183443.jpg

Now far be it for me to make things simple. I decided if I just dyed it red I might loose the pattern. I liked the pattern.

So I figured I could be inventive. I used half a packet of fuchsia and half a packet of crimson.

Each with the required, essential salt.

20140325-183723.jpg

I needed to make an even spread which required a bit of dipping in and out of one bucket. Then dipping the other end in and out the other bucket.

Top Tips

Always wet the garment first. If you try to dye anything dry it’s going to be streaky!

Put the buckets in the bath to catch any drips.

Then I let it stand for an hour or so.

20140325-184035.jpg

After a bit of squeezing I let it drip dry hanging in the garden. I didn’t want the colours to spoil.

drum roll

Here’s the end result! I’m pleased. It’s not warm enough to wear yet though!

20140325-184159.jpg

30 comments on “Double Dipping: Ad-dressing a small problem!

  1. The Crazy Crone
    March 25, 2014

    Vast improvement, great idea!

    Like

  2. Expat Eye
    March 25, 2014

    Wish I could do stuff like that 😉 I’d probably end up looking like a tomato and the dress would be unchanged…

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 25, 2014

      It’s not difficult at all honestly. I’ve stopped buying new clothes so I have to make the most if whatever’s lying about!

      Like

  3. silverbells2012
    March 25, 2014

    Agreed – it does look better coloured. I haven’t dyed anything since I was a teenager, but it was fun 🙂

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 25, 2014

      It helps with my commitment to not buy new clothes. So far I stopped shopping in September 2012. Since then I’ve bought two t shirts and a skirt new. Anything else was second hand or revamped!

      Like

      • silverbells2012
        March 25, 2014

        That’s a great way of reducing your burden on the planet. I still need to make it into more charity shops etc.

        Like

      • lizard100
        March 25, 2014

        It takes a bit of skill but it’s very interesting!

        Like

  4. Kerry OReilly
    March 25, 2014

    Wow, looking good Jonesy.

    Today I forgot to take the piccie but I’ve written it in my diary and will do it on Friday. Sorry buddy. And how about the chair? That fits in with the revamp/ reuse theme? Let me know.

    ________________________________

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 25, 2014

      Also good, Fanks! I need more posting material. I’ve done 70+ now! Creative juices eh!

      Like

  5. Anne Lene
    March 25, 2014

    Great idea, end result is perfect 🙂

    Like

  6. cheergerm
    March 25, 2014

    Much better, it’s edgier! My mum used to dye stuff ‘back in the day’ and is still know to turn to dyeing when something can be saved. Noice work.

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 25, 2014

      Thanks. It’s not a very flattering picture and I’ve since lost weight but it’s a better colour now.

      Like

  7. quarteracrelifestyle
    March 26, 2014

    Love it 🙂

    Like

  8. Jenni
    March 26, 2014

    That’s brilliant – really clever way to redeem a dress you didn’t like.

    Like

  9. Mistine
    March 28, 2014

    I LOVE the new look!

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 28, 2014

      Thank you. When the weather gets warmer I’ll be hoping to wear it.

      Like

  10. Julie S
    March 28, 2014

    I love it! Great idea! I like your finished version better too! Now I know what to do with some of these patterns that are too bold for me. I tend to favor the subtler patterns too and the fushia on the bottom looks awesome!

    Like

    • lizard100
      March 28, 2014

      I’ll be posting again soon on dying pattern and colour. You can transform far more things than you imagine. In particular a two tone fabric with one pale and one dark for example.

      Like

  11. Rambling Woods
    March 29, 2014

    Oh how clever… I like it

    Like

  12. bigfootmarty
    April 13, 2014

    I am also a fan of blue.black, dark green and greys as I too end up with tomato sauce or coffee right down the front- I am a 50 year old Boy- I kneel down- pick up bugs and plants…

    https://twitter/martyroddy

    At least my college gear is all Navy and Gold

    Like

  13. Brilliant choice of color. Looks marvelous on you.

    Like

  14. Ellen Hawley
    August 8, 2014

    I tend to dye my white clothes in chocolate ice cream, but maybe there is an alternative….

    Like

  15. littlesproutslearning
    August 12, 2014

    That looks awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2014 by in Refashion and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

