Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Hound dog coat

Visiting our friends in the holidays with their four hairless chihuahua, we learned that a jumper for these little fellas can cost £30. Now that’s a huge investment. 

And they feel the cold.

  
I had a crochet hook. I had some wool. I had some time. 

I needed to make up a pattern. I had a look for some but it wasn’t  feeling like a pattern sort of day. 

I’m not very experienced writing patterns but I did record how I did it. In the end I made three coats changing slightly each time until I got to this point. 

Dog coat pattern for chihuahua 

UK Hook size: 4.5

Yarn: I ball of DK will easily make a coat. I used three colours that I had. 

Abbreviations

DC double crochet

SS slip stitch

Neck section worked around. 

Starting chain: Chain 45 SS to first chain.

Row 1: Chain 2, Treble in each chain slip stitch into the second chain.

Row 2: 2 chain, Treble round post of each treble, SS in second chain.

Row 3 to 6: repeat row 2.

Shoulder section. Worked in round. 

Change colour. (Optional)

Row 7: chain 1, 1 DC in each treble slip stitch in first DC

Row 8: chain 1, 1 DC in each DC slip stitch in first chain

Row 9: 1 chain, 1 DC in each chain for 6 DC then two DC in next chain. Repeat till the end of the row. (Increasing row.)

Row 10 and 11: Repeat row 9

Row 12: chain 1 DC in each SC 

Row 13 to 16: repeat row 12 
Create space for front legs.

Stop working in round. Turn at end of each row. 

Row 17: chain 1 DC into each DC until seven stitches from end of row. Turn.

Row 18 to 26: repeat row 17

Row 27: repeat row 17 but don’t turn. Then chain 14 slip stitch to the first DC.

Row 28: chain 1 DC in each DC. 1 DC in each chain.

Row 29 to 35: chain 1, 1 DC in each DC. Turn.

Change colour. (Optional)

Row 36 to 45: repeat row 17 to 26. Turn.

(If the dog has a long back then continue with more rows in this section.)

Row 46: chain 1 DC in each DC until last dc. Slip stitch in last DC. Turn.

Row 47 to 53: Repeat row 46.

Finishing Edge at back

DC in each slip stitch along side to the opening then DC in each DC in the opening. DC in each slip stitch along rows 36 to 53.

   
 They turned out well. 

I’m working on number four now. 

 

5 comments on “Hound dog coat

  1. Unconfirmed Bachelorette
    January 3, 2016

    Precious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wfdec
    January 4, 2016

    Very clever. One thing I have never even tried is knitting or crochet. I am impressed

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      January 4, 2016

      I only really learned four years ago. Maybe something for 2016!

      Like

  3. Julia Davis-Coombs
    January 7, 2016

    Well done, you! I’m sure they are appreciated, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Sock Mistress
    January 11, 2016

    So cute! Nothing like a nice warm jacket for our beloved furry friends.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2016 by in crochet, self sufficiency, thrift and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

