Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

That time of year again

It’s hard to buy normal things for the household at this time. There are queues and queues of people and lines and lines of traffic. Time and parking spaces are scarce and everyone seems frustrated to some degree. 

I’m now at a point where I don’t buy it. 

The whole seasonal thing. I’ve always been one to ask why we do things and often that takes me in the opposite direction so I’m not clear why we do what we do at this time of year. 

If people choose to celebrate because of their beliefs I totally respect that.  But I’m not sure that what I witness on the high street has anything to do with faith of belief. 

Then all I see is waste. Wasted food, wasted time, discarded wrapping paper, emotional frustration wasted on effort to do our best which often leads to failure. Wasted money.  

And.

Stuff. 

Stuff we don’t want, stuff we don’t need, excess and wasteful ness most if which makes me feel sad and disappointed. Yet people think I’m a character from Dickens and that I’m being miserable for not conforming. 

I also find difficult the tendency that I encounter where people don’t respect what I believe about this time of year. It’s not miserable of me to dislike it. I’m an individual and I don’t enjoy the processes that other people do. 

I try to do more for charity. Christmas cards from good causes. Spend time making a shoe box for a child that will benefit in another land. Enjoy the fresh air, friendship, family and open spaces. 

I make things and recycle things. I donate. 

Keep it simple and only do things that are relevant to me. Keeping the waste down.  

I took this photo of Christmas rubbish a year ago. 

 

10 comments on “That time of year again

  1. BerLinda
    December 23, 2015

    Ugh, totally agree. Nobody I know actually NEEDS anything but I’m sure under our tree will be full of stuff. And enough food to feed an army for a month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 23, 2015

      It’s so frustrating. I just wish ‘stuff’ didn’t take over all the time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • BerLinda
        December 23, 2015

        Stuff for the sake of stuff as well. Wish my family would just do away with it. It just puts pressure on everyone and people end up oohing and aahing over things they never even wanted. And then it’s all over in five minutes and you’re left with a pile of stuff and wrappings and TOO much food.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        December 24, 2015

        Yep. Dismal.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Eddy Winko
    December 23, 2015

    Hear hear! Thankfully we are away from all of it, we shopped last week for the few things we needed and whilst we celebrate the time of year the only waste will be empty bottle, and even they are returnable 🙂 Happy The Days are Getting Longer!

    Like

  3. Mike Evans
    December 24, 2015

    I’m with you and Eddy Winko on this one. Some years ago my Mum said “this is stupid. Let’s just have an ordinary meal and token presents for no more than £10” It takes all the stress out of it and we don’t go near the shops this week if we can avoid it. We’ll drive to see her on Christmas morning – it’s quite a long drive, but the roads will be clear because most people are inside getting fat and drunk. Bah Humbug!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. wfdec
    December 28, 2015

    I totally agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Helen
    December 31, 2015

    Tootsie, Liz!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen
      December 31, 2015

      I meant ‘too true’! Not sure where the ‘tootsie’ came from lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2015 by in conservation, home made, Refashion, self sufficiency, thrift, Uncategorized and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 52,146 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

