Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

War time Baking 

I’m not much inclined to cook. I can cook but I don’t. Now and again I have a reason to cook and then I get carried away. 

This week I needed some utility baking for a school project. Rationing biscuits. 

I found a recipe on a great blog. That’s handy! 

It was for carrot biscuits. (Watch out if you’re from across the Atlantic. U.K. Biscuits are cookies. US biscuits are more like scones from what I can gather. )

The ingredients were simple and I made them gluten and dairy free too.

 The recipe was for twelve biscuits. It had about twelve spoons of ingredients and I was struck by how small the biscuits were. I doubled the recipe to make more.  
I guess it’s an example of modern life. Cookies and cakes are huge now. This war time recipe encouraged smaller portions. And of course the restricted diet at that time seems to have kept people healthier.  
They were good. (They don’t keep very long. )

6 comments on “War time Baking 

  1. Cryptic Garland
    November 30, 2015

    Good biscuits don’t keep. For a school project try making ANZAC biscuits. That’ll start a whole history project. If you want I’ll sen a recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2015 by in gluten free, grow your own, thrift, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,797 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

