Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Crochet Fun: A Stashbuster

A couple of months ago I wanted to make something. I’m always busy doing something but I’m always looking for something else.

But there’s always criteria to my creations. 

  • I prefer projects that use up existing stuff. 
  • I prefer projects that recycle. 
  • I prefer projects that are useful or purposeful. 
  • I prefer projects that keep me busy. 
  • I prefer projects that produce results fairly quickly.
  • I prefer projects that are portable. 

Not the most achievable set of expectations. 

I scoured my crochet books and magazines and then I found it.

The perfect stash buster. 

  
This amazing pattern by Heather Cawte was exactly what I needed. All criteria fulfilled. 

  
It was very easy to make. 

So much so I’ve since made five. 

  
  
This is technically the second one.   
  

  The first one was three metres long. 

 
I’ve got a new obsession. All of these have around forty rows of yarn. The most of these are from left overs, donations, scrap or charity shops. 

It’s amazing what can be done with rubbish! 

  
What’s your favourite recycling project?

10 comments on “Crochet Fun: A Stashbuster

  1. Eleonora from Coastal Crochet
    November 10, 2015

    Hello, thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad I have discovered yours! Love the photo of you crocheting on the bed. Another joy of a big project as it can keep you warm as you work on it- perfect for these autumnal evenings 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. IreneDesign2011
    November 10, 2015

    To make blankets in different ways and patterns. Nice projects 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reclaiming Paradise
    November 10, 2015

    They look great – I’ve got a similar knitted thing on the go – for the same reasons – using up bits and pieces of wool and trying to make something potentially useful out of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hilda
    November 11, 2015

    My knitting/crocheting habit took a hit when I broke my arm. Now almost recovered, this post makes me want to get back at it. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Julia Davis-Coombs
    November 11, 2015

    Crochet is not among my skill set, but your criteria for projects is nearly identical to mine. I have been particularly working on ‘stash busting’ in my sewing room all this year, and have a nice collection of buntings, bags and household soft furnishings to show for it, as well as a few presents sent out. Nice to see someone else with the same ethos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 11, 2015

      Thanks. I hate wasting stuff but odd balls of colourful wool are hard to make purposeful.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lindas garden and wildlife
    November 12, 2015

    Liz thank you for sharing I can knit only knit and purl I make dish cloths and scarfs sometimes and a bit of patchwork which I just started have a blessing of a day

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2015 by in crochet, recycling, thrift and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,406 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,590 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

