Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Make Lotion bars

I’m trying to reduce the number of over manufactured products in my toilet bag. 

I prefer not to have the plastic packaging, so much of which is rediculously over done. Rediculously elaborate bottles with boxes and lids and labels. 

Meanwhile who knows what half the stuff is that goes in there. There’s a saying 

If you wouldn’t eat it why put it on your face?

So far we’ve made soap, given up shampoo, got a packaging free deoderant (I’m still thinking about making that too) and quit most other things. 

I still use moisturizer but would prefer a simpler solution so today I decided to make a lotion bar to see if that will do the trick. 

There’s five ingredients. 

  
Beeswax (from our bees)

Coconut oil

Coconut butter

Vitamin E

Essential oil. 

I found the recipe on Treehugger. 

It called for a simple ban Marie. So I used a jam jar in a pan of water. 

  
Just measure the ingredients. (Check out the recipe in the link.)

Then melt it and pour in a mould. I put my silicon mould (which is probably meant for cupcakes) on a tray so it doesn’t flop about. 

Add the vitamin E and essential oil as a scent. 

 
Then pour. 

  
After a few hours they’re cooled sufficiently.   
I used lemongrass oil so they smell divine. 

It took about twenty minutes to make them. 

How have you cut down on chemical bomb products at home?



13 comments on “Make Lotion bars

  1. These look great πŸ™‚ I have cut down by making my own body oil and facial oils, I use deodorant from Lush which are less filled with crap and were packed in paper, or I use oil as deodorant. I make my own shampoo and I mix between water only or homemade shampoo. I use vinegars as a rinse in between. I barely ever use makeup (once or twice a year). So you might say I have a very simple daily morning routine, a quick shower (water only) slap on some oil.. and I’m done πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 8, 2015

      A girl after my own heart. All these tips look useful. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Evans
      November 21, 2015

      Well done – the only problem I’d have is that I can’t even walk past the outside of that Lush shop without breathing apparatus. They might only use nice stuff but it stinks to high heaven. Makes me gag.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I know what you mean πŸ˜‰ pretty much any store like that is hefty on the smell factor. But happily they are not always as bad as some of the places you need to go through just to get into some of the stores around.. places where its like you “fall” straight into several perfume bottles and not even good ones at that.. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        November 21, 2015

        The bar of shampoo that we bought there recently is adding to the flavour of the whole first floor.

        Like

      • Mike Evans
        November 22, 2015

        What is it with those people? Their employees must all have a smell disability. Maybe those oh-so-natural ingredients they use actually smell so bad that they have to mask it with a vat of patchouli

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        November 22, 2015

        Could be!

        Like

  2. June
    November 8, 2015

    I make my own face and body scrubs and a body butter similar to this. I use only a rock salt deodorant – one stick lasts about a year and it works really well. I have been making my own liquid soap / shower gel but I’m not completely happy with it – it tends to go a bit lumpy on me – so I need to revisit that recipe. I use only eco / organic washing up liquid and clothes detergent, and very little of it. Little by little I will get rid of them all! Those little flowers look great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 8, 2015

      These are great too. What Eco people I’m hearing from today. I just use home made soap in a bar for hands and body. No shampoo at all just water now.
      We gave up clothes detergent about eight years ago. A bar of soap or a spray of vodka for the stinky bits.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cryptic Garland
    November 9, 2015

    Coconut oil is the in thing around here at the moment. Cook with it and use it on your skin and probably lots of other things as well.
    But I like yours

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2015 by in Health, home made, thrift and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,467 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,590 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

