Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Chocolate heaven

I mentioned the other day that I’d taken on a task that had been hanging around for years. Literally years. 

The cobnuts from the two trees we planted in our back garden are ripening nicely for this year’s crop.

Meanwhile the previous three years worth were in bowls, waiting to be a tasty snack. Hmmm no one has eaten them. 

I had no idea what to do with cobnuts but I do know we like and eat a lot of chocolate spread. 

So I was curious. Would they be edible after all this time? And would they make a good hazelnut style spread?

First we had to shell them. 

  
Those whispy covers and shells that needed cracking were a challenge. 

Many of the oldest nuts had indeed shrivelled up quite badly but years two and three weren’t too bad. There was about 200g of nuts. Probably a cup and a half. 

 (Note to self: use future year’s crops sooner.)
Then they needed to be roasted which would also enable us to ‘rub off’ the skins. This process took a lot of rubbing and scraping. 

  
I managed to find a few internet recipes to make the spread. And then found the other ingredients in the store cupboard. (I love using up stuff we already have.)

It was a bit guess work. The recipe I used said one teaspoon of vegetable oil but that gave a very dry texture which was more like a paste. 

In the end I used cocoa nibs, powdered sugar, vanilla essence and sunflower oil. So there weren’t too many ingredients. 

  

3 comments on “Chocolate heaven

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    July 5, 2015

    lovely update thank you for sharing I have to try that with peanuts as I love peanut butter I buy a jar a week

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Equality 333
    July 21, 2015

    Ummm looks tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2015 by in grow your own, home made, thrift and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,265 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,583 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

