Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

One plum tree: the verdict

The One plum tree got its name originally three years ago. 

For obvious reasons. 

It only bore one plum. 

It was like the nut tree

I had a little nut tree
nothing would it bear
but a silver nutmeg
and a golden pear.

The following year it had three plums. A two hundred percent increase. 

This year it seems that it’s gone back to its original name. 

I saw a plum the other day but can’t even find it now. 

It’s got to the stage where the tree will be leaving us. (See what I did there?)

 I’m very frustrated. I don’t want to chop it down but it’s hopeless. I tried hard pruning. I’ve tried feeding it. 

I’m at my wits end for ideas. 

So I’ve decided to give it one last possibility. 

Does anyone out there in blog land have any hard and fast suggestions?

The tree is about five years old. We planted it. It has never borne much fruit at all. Literally a handful of plums in the entire time. 

So if you think you can tell us what’s going wrong with a story of a zero fruit tree turned good then I’ll give it another chance but otherwise it’s going to be firewood. 

18 comments on “One plum tree: the verdict

  1. Emily Scott
    June 16, 2015

    Is a tree only worth keeping if it provides fruit? It will still be of benefit to the local insects and birds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 16, 2015

      I see what you mean. We grown any things that benefit birds and bugs but on the allotment I think it is needs to fruit too. I will replace it with another tree but I need it to be productive.

      Like

      • Emily Scott
        June 17, 2015

        That’s good. I just get really sad when I see trees being cut down, but at least another one would be put in its place.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        June 17, 2015

        Definitely.
        And if I get a top tip I’ll probably give it another year. I don’t want to cut it down but I do want some plums. The allotment is pretty small.

        Like

  2. Ellen Hawley
    June 17, 2015

    I can’t give you any suggestions, but I can give you sympathy. We have two plum trees, side by side, that don’t even get as far as flowering.

    Like

  3. Pingback: One plum tree: A Reprieve? | Green Lizard's Blog

  4. jpeggytaylor
    June 17, 2015

    I’ve not grown fruit trees from scratch before, but I do remember reading that some fruit trees require other variety of fruit tree for pollination to be effective. I think it depends on the particular cultivar – some are self-fertile and others aren’t. It might be worth looking into, even if you end up choosing different fruit trees.

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      June 17, 2015

      Good point! There’s tonnes of other plum trees around it on the allotment. All of which seem bowed down with fruit. : (

      Liked by 1 person

      • jpeggytaylor
        June 17, 2015

        I would think if it’s surrounded by other plum trees that should mean it would fruit …

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        June 17, 2015

        And our bee hive suggests plenty of pollinators too : (

        Liked by 1 person

      • jpeggytaylor
        June 18, 2015

        Absolutely! There’s hardly a shortage of pollinators in your garden!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Julia Davis-Coombs
    June 18, 2015

    I agree with peggytalyor that there could be a pollination issue, but I have to ask: does it even flower? No amount of suitable pollination partners or beneficial insects will help if it doesn’t flower. And it won’t benefit the insects if it doesn’t flower.
    What’s your relationship like with your fellow allotmenters? Will they share advice on pruning/feeding etc? (I expect they would.)
    Finally, might I suggest that if you do replace the tree, you choose a different fruit, and put it in a slightly different spot, just in case there’s some pest or disease lurking in that location?
    Best of luck!

    Like

    • lizard100
      June 18, 2015

      It does flower beautifully. I’ve had some advice about pruning and I did prune it quite dramatically at the end of last year.

      Like

  6. plot34
    June 21, 2015

    I planted a Czar plum in 2008 and it was only last year that I got a decent harvest. Like you, before that I could count the plums on one hand and then they all disappeared! My ‘top tip’ was to not prune at all for a couple of years – this wasn’t planned, life just got busy around stone fruit pruning time!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Chaos Realm
    June 22, 2015

    It took years before the family grapefruit tree bore fruit (1973 they moved in). At least ten years, if not more. Now, every year, it produces so many delicious, huge grapefruits!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 22, 2015

      Wow fancy growing grapefruit. That’s not the northern European climate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2015 by in allotment, environment, Gardening, grow your own and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,196 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

