Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Drying tonight

About two years ago we bought a simple dehydrator. I was a little nervous about this as I do try to have fewer electrical gadgets now. 

Today it’s drying elder flowers.  


We have made plenty of elderflower cordial from foraged flowers and rather than make more yet that we don’t have room to store or that might go off, we decided to see if we can dry some of this lovely blossom as it has a short season. 

The last time we used it was to dry delicious kale chips. 

Prior to that we made fruit leather. Both of these were things we’d not had before and better uses of food we’d grown ourselves. The dryer was brilliant. 

Stupidly I didn’t use it to do those dandelion roots the other day. 

We’ve used it to dry lemons and to make sundries tomatoes. Both of which we would’ve struggled to use fresh as we had plenty. 

We also dried thyme for the bees as its a good hive treatment against varroa parasites. 

So far it’s been a great addition to our tools. Interestingly we’ve made a number of new things with it and found more ways to use stuff that would otherwise have only been chicken feed.  

It cost about €24 euros I think so it was well worth it. 

Hopefully we’ll find even more uses this season. 

Do you have any great uses for a dehydrator?

13 comments on “Drying tonight

  1. jpeggytaylor
    June 14, 2015

    This sounds like another interesting and useful way to preserve home grown or foraged produce.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 14, 2015

      It is and often there’s little to be done to prepare food I order to dry it so it’s handy at busy harvesting time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hilda
    June 14, 2015

    I’ve started dehydrating organic fruit skins (like apples and pears) and then grinding them into a powder to use as a sweetener.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 14, 2015

      That’s a good idea. We have had pears with very tough skins. I’ll bear that in mind.

      Like

  3. Grower
    June 14, 2015

    I haven’t used my dehydrater an awful lot but like what I’ve done with it. Apple slices area favorite. Tomatillos for sauces, tomatoes for sauces, snacking and tomato powder. I need to try your kale chips now. I’ve got lots of kale suddenly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 14, 2015

      Kale is just delicious in it. It’s amazing.
      Keep trying to grow tomatillos but we don’t have the climate.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. emaillisa
    June 14, 2015

    Oh fabulous! I’ve been thinking of buying a dehydrator but hesitated, not sure if it was worth it….seeing all this makes me want to rush out and buy one NOW! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 14, 2015

      I think this year we’ll be finding more uses. Just watch your budget. It’s easy to justify for 24 euros.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Drying tonight | Green Lizard’s Blog | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  6. suchled
    June 15, 2015

    Man oh man. That looks exactly like my dehydrator. Firstly I slice apples and then put them in my daughter’s lunch box for school. Then I do prune plums for my wife’s tummy problems. Then I do parsley and thyme and basil and etc etc et-bloody-cetera.
    Even sliced quince. I can’t go on. Even anything you’ve got more of that you need. Dry it and use it later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 15, 2015

      I’m aiming for the ‘dry anything you’ve got too much of’ philosophy. Sounds good!

      Like

  7. wscottling
    June 15, 2015

    I have a dehydrator very similar to yours and I use it a lot. It is great for making dried citrus peels for use in baking. It’s also wonderful for making dried herbs. I use it to dry all kinds of fruits. I found a book in a local charity shop called “Putting Food By” which talks mostly about canning but also drying foods. It’s got some helpful hints too.

    One of my favorite things to make in my dehydrator is banana jerky. i don’t know how popular bananas are over on your side of the water, but they’re way cheap here, and if you push down on the pointy end of a banana, it will split down the middle three ways. Dry them for two days and voila! banana jerky. It’s healthy, chewy and a good snack.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 15, 2015

      I knew about the banana split. I might give that one a try too. Thanks for the suggestions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2015 by in allotment, grow your own, Health, vegetarian and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 52,056 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#mushroom #netherlands #fungi #foraging #woodland #nature

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

