Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

A winner: Elderflower Cordial

after last week’s dandelion coffee, (It was a disaster ) I’m pleased to report a win. 

When we started growing veg and fruit I started learning more and more about various things that you can make yourself. 

I really wanted to make elderflower stuff. I love the cordial and juice and there’s other things too. 

We tried growing elderflower but our bush didn’t grow well at all yet.

Then we did the great foraging days and I got inspired to seek out the raw materials around the place. 

Now previously I’ve never noticed elderflowers but since I started looking they are everywhere. 

We were very careful to check descriptions and photos before we collected any. 

 We  needed twenty flower heads for the recipe from river cottage. 

Like the other flower recipes, this one required steeping in boiling water overnight. 

Then it took about twenty mins and a bag of sugar to make two large bottles of cordial.  
All I can say is that it’s delicious! It’s incredible. I can’t describe it. 

I went out and collected some more.

  

Have you tried making anything different this year?  

13 comments on “A winner: Elderflower Cordial

  1. gaiainaction
    June 9, 2015

    This is great and illustrated with lovely photos, enjoyed and if I get a hold of some elder flowers I will make some too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lindaswildlifegarden
    June 10, 2015

    Awesome update thank you for sharing Liz just notice my neighbour has an elder flower tree in they front garden

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grower
    June 10, 2015

    I don’t know any legal places to collect them around here, but elder is on my list of things to grow should we ever move to where we can. Come to think of it, there may be room in the back yard now that the apple tree is gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: love/hate challenge | the.sunshine.is.ours

  5. Zoe
    June 11, 2015

    oooh that looks and sounds yummy! does it have any health benefits like some herbs do?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rabthepict
    June 13, 2015

    It’s fantastic with Gin, cucumber, ice, topped up with water ğŸ˜Ž

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2015 by in allotment, grow your own, home made and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,877 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

