Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Clean Linen, my foot!

 
Can’t believe my eyes! 

This air freshener claims to produce the smell of clean linen?

Eh?

Surely clean linen smells like ‘clean linen’. And artificial canned air freshener smells like artificial canned air freshener. I couldn’t bring myself to squirt it. 

Eliminate odour and freshen the air with the classic scent of line-dried laundry, making your home uniquely inviting for all.
(according to the website)

I can’t stand these things. If there’s a bad smell in our house we open the window. If we want the smell of clean linen. We hang our washing outside and then smell it when it comes in. 

If we’d like a lavender aroma we get some lavender and hang it up to dry. 

I’m always a bit confused when colleagues say they love the smell of fabric conditioner. It’s not real. 

Our clothes technically smell of nothing cos we don’t use soap. They are just clean. 

I don’t smell of much. 

When I’ve loaned someone a piece of clothing and it comes back washed and clean I’m always amazed at how many washes it takes without soap before the smell disappears. Usually three runs. 

I’ve gone right off artificial, fake, canned, bottled, stinky, perfumed fakery. 

Yeuch

Surely if something is covered in chemical smells it’s filthy? Masking smelly smells is nasty too, isn’t it? They’re still there underneath, hiding. 

It’s so nice this is what it says on the web page under safety. Bleurgh!

Keep out of the reach of children. Keep away from sources of ignition – No smoking. Do not breath spray. In case of contact with eyes, rinse immediately with plenty of water and seek medical advice. Use only in well – ventilated areas.Protect from sunlight and do not expose to temperatures exceeding 50°C. Do not pierce or burn even after use. Do no spray on a naked flame or any incandesent material. People sufferring from perfume sensitivity should be cautions when using the product.

I like the smell of nothing. 

Check out the scary data sheet on their website

As a kid, I vividly remember learning about green house gases and the ozone layer. CFCs were in sprays and fridges and other things. The hole in the  ozone layer was getting bigger. 

So sprays were changed to not have CFCs in them. 

That was one of the few big green initiatives that the main stream adopted. 

Ever since, when I see a can of spray it makes me shudder. I wish I’d looked to see what propellant this spray was using instead. 

So I looked it up in that document on the website. 

  
After all it’s not just the fake smell going into the air but some nasty gas or precious resource being wasted just to shoot that fake scent about the place. Not sure I want any of these nasties in my air space thank you very much. Clean linen, my foot!

4 comments on “Clean Linen, my foot!

  1. Bug Woman
    June 2, 2015

    Hi Green Lizard, I so agree with you! Lots of people are made ill by all the artificial scents that they come into contact with. We normally use Ecover to wash our clothes, and when once we decided to use Persil because our local greengrocer had run out we really regretted it – my husband came out in hives and the smell was enough to make our eyes water. I think people gradually go ‘nose-dead’ to this kind of smell.

    I am intrigued that you don’t use soap to wash clothes – what do you use instead? Like so many things, I suspect we use a lot of cleaning products out of ignorance because we don’t know what to use instead…

    Great blog by the way, and congratulations on your first year – please don’t stop, I look forward to your posts

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 2, 2015

      Thanks bug woman. We don’t use anything chemical in the wash. Haven’t for years. Just water.
      Occasionally we buy a bottle of Ecover. Say once every two years for the bedclothes and anything that’s a bit wiffy.
      I now use a vodka spray for the pits of tops. But no soap.
      I just decided that we didn’t know whether soap was necessary so we stopped to see what would happen.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. faeriembassy
    June 3, 2015

    funny isnt it that once you remove the artificial smells from your life how difficult it is to endure them. I almost gag passing women in the street that have laid on the perfume the hair spray and the deoderant and they think they smell nice – it is foul to me.
    what about those air fresheners that squirt out a smell into the house every few minutes – i have a sister who has a great love of them also in her car – much as I love her it is so hard to hang out with her toxic smelling world. she is a woman that loves her hair spray too.
    thanks for the no soap wash idea for clothes – hadnt got around to that one
    sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      June 3, 2015

      Totally agree. We borrowed a car recently and I had to bury those Christmas tree air fresheners inside the map book. Could hardly breathe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2015 by in environment, grow your own, Reduce and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,204 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

