Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Put the kettle on…

it’s time to make jam out of flowers. 

Yep you read it right. I started doing this two years ago with the lovely lilac tree flowers. 

  
It’s probably the easiest jam to make. Simply pick off the flower heads from three flowers and steep in half a pint of boiling water over night. 

Then strain. 

Bring to the boil with pectin sugar. Check the packet for the amount. It’s a little higher than with fruit jams. 

Stick it in sterile jars. 

Bob’s your uncle. 

  

Part 2 comes tomorrow. 

14 comments on “Put the kettle on…

  1. andy1076
    May 20, 2015

    How does it taste? I only ever heard of rose water until this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      May 20, 2015

      It’s sweet and flowery. Quite a delicate flavour.

      Like

  2. BerLinda
    May 20, 2015

    Think I’d rather bathe in it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily
    May 21, 2015

    I adore the smell of lilacs.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Put the Kettle on … Part 2 | Green Lizard's Blog

  5. circusgardener
    May 21, 2015

    Great idea. Must give this a try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Julia Davis-Coombs
    May 22, 2015

    Intriguing! I use lavender flowers in baking…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. backtowhatever
    May 22, 2015

    How do I know I don’t pick some poisonous version of it? 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      May 22, 2015

      Well I would check with the owner. But lilac is very distinctive. Giant flowers made up of smaller flowers each with four petals. Zoom in on my photos.

      Liked by 1 person

      • backtowhatever
        May 22, 2015

        Umm… I think I’ll try this one. I just have to go sure what I bring home from my hike 😄😂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Unexpected harvest | Green Lizard's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2015 by in grow your own, self sufficiency, vegetarian and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,265 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,583 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

