Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beautiful Wild Bees

Bee hotels are clever things, filled with short sections of twos and bamboo but I rarely see one that’s inhabited. 

 
Though you can’t see them in this picture , this was humming with them. 

They were a tiny species of Wild bee that I would’ve thought were small flies had I not looked closely. 

I was pleased to see the bee hotel working. 

Have you seen any that impressed you? 

4 comments on “Beautiful Wild Bees

  1. Grower
    May 5, 2015

    Wow! That’s one of the biggest I’ve ever seen! I have some occupants of the bamboo stems I installed outside my back door.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Julia Davis-Coombs
    May 5, 2015

    I keep planning to put up a home-made job but never get around to it. Have you got one?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beeseeker
    May 5, 2015

    Aren’t they brilliant – and so easy to put together – we have some on the walls at home and some on our allotment plots, to supplement living for species other than the hive bees that are also on site, up the slope.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emily Scott
    May 5, 2015

    I have been lucky enough to see one in use by solitary bees, here’s some photos: http://adventuresinbeeland.com/2012/05/18/national-bee-unit-varroa-workshop-part-4-the-enchanted-garden/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2015 by in beekeeping, bees and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 58,006 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,566 other subscribers

Instagram photos

No Instagram images were found.

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Suzy Becqué Nutrition

Plantbased Health Coach & Recipe Creator

Expat Since Birth – A Life spent "abroad"

a blog by a multilingual lifelong expat/international, linguist, researcher, speaker, mother of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about raising children with multiple languages, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Computational Fairy Tales

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Rowan McCabe

and that...

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.