Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

White Gold

The Dutch call it white gold. I’m not sure I’m keen on the idea. I’m amazed that so many people here think green asparagus is bad. The white stuff is grown in the dark. Covered over to prevent the stuff of photosynthesis from making it green. 

The stuff we grow is exposed to light. (It’s a purple variety of course.)

When you grow your own vegetables there’s a lot of different aspects to the job. 

One of them is optimism. It’s particularly inspired by the spring glimpses of new life. 

  
I’ve always been impressed when I get the first glimpse in the bare dirt of one of these. 

It’s a bit mad but in the dirt there they are. Weird fingers sticking out of the ground.   

(Not sure why they were so blurry. Maybe it was the odd light. )

Can hardly wait for them to grow long enough to eat. 

What’s you first sign of spring? 

8 comments on “White Gold

  1. andy1076
    April 21, 2015

    Can’t say I ever seen purple asparagus before, heck I always go for the Green ones cause I figure those are safe lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    April 22, 2015

    I don’t’ recall ever having blanched asparagus. The green is just fine by me! Asparagus is THE vegetable we are adamant about only eating locally and in season so it’s the most exciting one to have for the first time each spring. This year I just harvested our first ever crop from the garden, too.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. jemills56
    April 22, 2015

    White Asparagus with homemade butter on a trip to Germany…….yum! the memory stays with me ;). Not spotted mine yet…wondering if the tortoise has nipped them in the bud??

    Liked by 1 person

  4. potatobuoy
    April 22, 2015

    I have found asaparagus difficult to grow .Finally after 4 years the bed is producing and it’s great to see those shoots .

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      April 23, 2015

      It’s supposed to take three years for the bed to settle so that sounds right to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2015 by in allotment and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,712 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

