Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Not such a great mountain 

when you have an allotment it can be daunting approaching the start of the year. Plenty to do and re sun is shining. 

The potatoes are chitting. 

But then we need more plants. The seed is an amazing thing. 

In next to no time a couple of weeks back I planted four trays of seeds. Lots of different types. 

And now 

  

These are certainly doing well. 

 

As are these. 

 

 And these. We have transplanted many of them. The corn and courgette family particularly and then transferred them outside. 

We have a mini greenhouse with a zip cover. This way they’ll start getting used to the outdoor temperatures gradually. 

Over the years, due to lack of space, I’ve learned to germinate seedlings in trays in the house like this. Those that start to grow then get bigger containers. 

We start cabbage family in a similar tray but outside. Some seeds in particular beans are started just by soaking them until they sprout. 

We have to protect the greenhouse from the gems of course. I’ll post more about that soon. 

How do you start your growing season? I’m always looking for ingenuity. 

4 comments on “Not such a great mountain 

  1. quercuscommunity
    April 16, 2015

    We start off with good intentions and trays of seeedlings round the house (including a couple of heated propagators). After that I’m afraid it becomes more chaotic. We lost our Cape Gooseberry cuttings during the winter, for instance, and I’ve only just bought the seeds to grow more – realising I’m a month late. My wife has adopted pots that I had earmarked for cuttings later in the year and someone on the farm has “tidied” the bag of toilet roll tubes I had saved for beans…

    Despite that I still love this time of year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      April 19, 2015

      Chaos reigns a bit here too. Some things don’t work. Others get forgotten. The watering can be sporadic. But we still get loads of produce.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    April 16, 2015

    I start a bunch of seeds inside, including a few of the things I could just plant straight in the ground first thing. I like to think I’m getting a little jump on them but in the end there’s not much difference. I also start way more tomato and pepper plants than I really need. They grow so well it’s just hard not to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      April 19, 2015

      It does get a little out of hand here too. Particularly with the tomatoes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2015 by in allotment, grow your own and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,063 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#mushroom #netherlands #fungi #foraging #woodland #nature

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

