Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Is this the ultimate greenwash?



green wash?

stevia additives

That familiar logo, the curvaceous bottle all looks normal but green. 

Green?

What’s going on?

Apparently this is a drink with ‘natural’ plant extracts. Hmmm AND sugar. Sweetened with products from natural sources. 

Hmmmm some of the sugar has apparently been replaced with stevia. 

Why does it need a green label? Sugar is a natural product. But it didn’t merit a green label before. Apparently it used to contain 17 spoons of the stuff. 

Nasty marketing ploy me thinks. What do you think? 

14 comments on “Is this the ultimate greenwash?

  1. irenedesign2011
    March 19, 2015

    This is the first time that I see this kind. I don’t know…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyofthecakes
    March 19, 2015

    Have you looked into how industrial stevia sweeteners are made…? They are just as natural as High Fructose Corn Syrup… which is made from corn, after all 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      March 19, 2015

      But sugar is natural too. Why make it green?

      Like

      • ladyofthecakes
        March 19, 2015

        If MacDonald’s dares to go green, so can Coke!

        I’m predicting an imminent corporate re-branding exercise resulting in the apparition of Greensanto 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        March 19, 2015

        Weird if you ask me.

        Like

  3. Emily Scott
    March 19, 2015

    The things marketing people do to trick us into thinking something is good for us! I don’t trust it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. faeriembassy
    March 20, 2015

    nasty yes- one by one the marketing genius’ suborn our colours and use them for nefarious purposes – perhaps I misplaced my sense of humour – I had better go looking for it- but coke – who goes there????
    sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 22, 2015

      It’s just crazy. It’s called coke life! What does that mean.

      Like

  5. I hate the schemes these companies pull to sell product. And any uninformed person will fall for this. People, educate yourselves please.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. greenandthrifty
    March 20, 2015

    I think it’ll flop like New Coke did all those years ago. I don’t think people are dumb enough to think that coke is good for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 20, 2015

      I would hope so. I wonder if the stevia version can dissolve teeth!

      Like

  7. bmary
    March 20, 2015

    Excuse me, I need to go outside and gather some oxygen so I can properly laugh at this. Omg. It’s green! Must be healthy! Ha. I heard processed Kraft cheese product is now recommended as healthy, with new labeling! Great…

    Liked by 2 people

  8. lizard100
    March 20, 2015

    Unbelievable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2015 by in Health and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,285 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

