Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Flowers in Funny Places

So I should give this meme a specific day of the week or something but randomly I haven’t worked this out yet. I guess spring gives too many opportunities. 

Couldn’t resist this.



spring bulbs

Where are they growing?



Three tiny daffodils. 



The Netherlands

spring daffodils



On a very busy road junction in Amsterdam Noord. 

So a very quick post but I’m impressed with the resilience of these lovely golden flowers. 



bulbs

surprise location



Just about see them on the verge. I can’t help wondering how they came to be there. There’s no bulbs at all in the rest of the grassy stretch. 

I wonder whether they may also spread too. 

Have you spotted any spring bulbs anywhere odd yet? 

8 comments on “Flowers in Funny Places

  1. Emily Scott
    March 15, 2015

    A flash of beauty to brighten the monotonous ugliness of a road.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jpeggytaylor
    March 15, 2015

    Oh, just lovely … On wondering why they are there, I thought possibly they may have been planted by someone for whom that spot meant something ???

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ellen Hawley
    March 16, 2015

    O Great Green Lizard, would you mind if I go off topic here and ask a question about composting, because I’m betting you know the answer? Our compost bins aren’t cooking down, and I suspect they don’t get enough sun so we’re talking about moving them. Any idea how many hours of sun they need? We could moving them to a spot where they get full morning sun, but are in the shade after that. Would that work? We’re thinking about investing in one of the ones that tumble the compost to speed it along.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 22, 2015

      Sorry Ellen I saw this comment and question and then couldn’t find it again.
      I’m not sure how many hours but warmth definitely makes a difference to ours.
      In cornwall over winter I wouldn’t expect too much change in the compost but spring does make a difference. Also we make sure it’s not to dry. As the winter here has been very dry the compost has dried out. Add a watering can full of water if it seems very dry.
      The full morning sun spot sounds good. I think the tumble ones are a bit huge. Plus then the worms don’t get in to work on it.

      Like

      • Ellen Hawley
        March 22, 2015

        I did wonder about the worms in the tumble composters. The worms in our current ones are all climbing out and leaving, which I read somewhere may be a sign that the compost is too wet. I don’t know if that’s true, but I do know that I find them clinging to the top when I take it off, as if they’re getting as far from the contents as possible. Whatever it means, it can’t be good. Thanks so much for your comments. You’ve given me a bit more to think about.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        March 22, 2015

        Ah now if it’s too wet then add more ‘brown’ matter. So literally shredded card board and things life egg boxes can help. It may mean digging it out and reloading it though. Or lifting the compost bin off if you have that type of design.
        They get very wet if there’s too much of certain kinds of green waste. Grass clippings can be a culprit.

        Like

  4. Ellen Hawley
    March 22, 2015

    The council here has a green waste pickup, so we’ve stopped adding grass clippings. I’ll add more paper, though. Keep them worms happy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2015 by in Local nature and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,884 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

