Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 4

Ohhhhhh! Getting into the big numbers now. 

This week was not too difficult but was tricky because I was away on holiday. Hence the late post. 

It required 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 and 28 items. 

A grand total of 175 items were needed.

We have a gulp lot of books. Four book cases in the attic alone. Tonnes of books and maps etc. It’s a converted attic. It was the obvious place to start. 

A while later…



More time passed….



Eventually….



I had 158. Now I could’ve stopped there but the challenge bug has bitten me hard. 

I kept going. 

Seventeen items later, I think I’ve done it! 

175 this week. That’s 406 items altogether. I’m not worried that February is a short month. I’m just a but taken aback at the tiny dent that so many items makes in the grand scheme of things. 

The removal of all those books, periodicals and maps only cleared two shelves. The rest are probably tidier but still not exactly empty. 

This means another 11 shelves of books in the attic still. 

It’s been a truely eye opening experience which I intend to repeat. In a few months time…

14 comments on “Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 4

  1. Rach
    March 2, 2015

    I’m astonished at how easy that was, and – as you said – at how little difference it makes overall!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 2, 2015

      I think so many of them have been settled on the shelves for so long I was more able to be honest about whether to keep them.

      Like

      • Rach
        March 2, 2015

        That’s an excellent point. Every time I try to clear things out I get caught up in sentimentality or thinking “it might be useful one day!” I’ll just have to be more ruthless next time!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        March 2, 2015

        I remembered too a while ago finding a box of books from my own childhood. We’d stored them in the attic and they were so very dated. At the time of packing them up I really though they’d be great for future kids in the family but soon realised they wouldn’t be.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Chaos Realm
    March 2, 2015

    Any more tips on how to let go of books? <–downsizing books right now (Help! LOL)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 2, 2015

      I kept asking myself if I’d read them again. The we had lots of dictionaries in different languages so I only kept one if the language was useful. Duplicates were also waved goodbye too. With some I had a destination in mind. So children’s books that might be read by children instead of shelves etc

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OmniRunner
    March 2, 2015

    We have so many kids books and VHS movies. I know that no one will watch the movies again ,now that there is on-demand, Netflix and DVDs. Hoping it will be years before my little girls have little girls of their own to read those old books to.
    I just find it difficult to part with items from my kids childhood.
    You’re setting a great example for the rest of us pack rats!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. faeriembassy
    March 3, 2015

    you are an inspiration – I have recently gathered all my childhood books from the parental home and put them in the bookshelf but when I pull one out to read to my grandson they are dated and often very un pc or just really a story that I dont approve of and yet I hold on….
    get back to you on that one….
    Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 3, 2015

      That’s the dilemma. They become history and the history may not work for a child later but perhaps for a nostalgic adult.

      Like

  5. The Chaos Realm
    March 3, 2015

    Thanks! One thing I considered is that there seems to be a trend in libraries to cancel interlibrary loan, and for a lot of academic (history) books I need but maybe don’t want to keep–those kind of books don’t seem to be available digitally. So some of those I’m on the fence about. Thanks for the tips! So hard!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      March 3, 2015

      Rome wasn’t built in a day. Everything has loopholes.

      Like

  6. dianaroggenbuckebrown
    March 4, 2015

    Wow good on you !! 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 4 | Having a fun Life!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in recycling, Reduce, thrift and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

