Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 3

It’s getting harder now, a lot harder.

Two weeks ago on the first of Feb I found one item to remove from our house and the next day followed it with two items on the third it was three.

I’m on to Day 15 to 21 now. And the numbers are getting tricky. Twenty eight items departed that first week.

In week two it was seventy seven items in total.

Week three goes up to one hundred and twenty six things!

(gurgling panic noises) one hundred and twenty six things is about a hundred more than week one!

So here goes!

Day 15
Some odds and sods and bits and pieces.

IMG_0950

Day 16
Fifteen candle type items and tapers.

IMG_0948

Day 17
More candle ish taper things. (Now I know candles are useful in a crisis but I still have a load more. ) Now if you look carefully there’s fifteen again. However I confess to doing my days in the wrong order and a couple of other says this week gave more items than they should so it balances out. The tidy gene wanted groups of things where possible.

IMG_0949

Day 18
Children’s books. (For the book donation)

IMG_0951

Day 19
What can I say? That cupboard full of plastic containers now has all matching lids and these spare lids are going to become a project made by university students who are making models.

IMG_0947

Day 20
Tights, the drawer of overflowing under goods is positively skipping with the reduced weight borne of loosing a load of tights.

IMG_0954

Day 21
So after tights come socks don’t they? The similarly over burdened sock drawer is now a deal lighter too. And a few escapees from the man sock drawer were relocated too.
Without wanting to sound sanctimonious I often tidy my sock and tights drawers but having this culling strategy was way more positive. I did find it hard to dispose of things that are still useful or wearable but there are still many many socks in the drawer.

IMG_0955
All the fabric items from both weeks are going to the kleding bank. Re-useable fibres scan be harvested.

So one or two days were mildly incorrectly numbered but the overall total works. (There’s twenty six lids, honest!)

(Next week I’m away a bit so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to continue on time. But I’m intending to catch up as soon as I can! )

2 comments on “Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 3

  1. John Coleman
    February 21, 2015

    Wow! Great idea. I’m looking at a couple hundred candidates as we speak. Peace, John

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wscottling
    February 21, 2015

    I don’t know if I can do my purging in such and orderly fashion. I usually just go through in a manic “Everything’s got to go!” frenzy and dump it all either on a charity shop’s doorstep or in the proper recycling bins. Now that I have a husband who’s so into stuff, that’s not so easy to do anymore…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2015 by in Reduce and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,196 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

