Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Wat-er ripoff!

I was amazed a few weeks ago to come across this at the train station fast supermarket.

IMG_0898

Bottled water with lavender and mint in it to buy.

Last year I posted about a colleague’s water top tip.

IMG_0897

Curiously they look pretty similar. But the difference is huge. The first bottle of course is single use plastic. The second is glass.

The price of the bottled water escaped me. So I’ve just looked it up €1.75 for 500ml. They also come with cucumber or lemon.

Amazing. Tap water is virtually free as it’s covered by the water rates. Meanwhile mint grows like a weed in the garden.

What a crazy example of convenience gone mad!

11 comments on “Wat-er ripoff!

  1. ladyofthecakes
    February 15, 2015

    This is really interesting! How do they ensure microbiological safety? I wonder about the shelf life of these bottles.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    February 15, 2015

    Yes, I’d be leary of a bottle of that if it didn’t start to rot in a day or so. Maybe they degas it but then you might have botulism to worry about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bmary
    February 15, 2015

    I’ve seen similar things here in the States, but they’re marketed as “flavored water” which, to me, is incredibly stupid. We have all sorts of weird additives you can put in your water to make it terrible. I accidentally drank one, at a friend’s house, we were helping move, so no glasses in sight of course, and it, I kid you not, tasted like a salt bomb. On further inspection, I discovered it was supposed to be “berry” flavored, how specific. It was awful. I don’t understand how berries are supposed to be salty. Groooossssssss.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Frugal Hausfrau
    February 15, 2015

    Great article! I laughed when I first saw “bottled” water come out in individual sizes. I thought no-one would ever be stupid enough to buy that. Wow, was I wrong!! Here they have “vitamin” water, too, which people buy because they think it’s healthy, but who knows what’s in it…

    I make my own flavored waters, too! I often use scraps of fruits and/or veggies rather than toss or compost, put them in a mason jar and into the fridge. The scraps can get one more shot at providing flavor and nutrients and you’d be surprised at how much flavor the core and stems of strawberries have, for instance!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. OmniRunner
    February 15, 2015

    How true!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Old Things R New
    February 16, 2015

    You can buy something to go into a mason jar that strains the mint, berries, cucumber etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. suchled
    February 17, 2015

    I think that the whole idea of personal sized bottles of water is not only stupid but in many ways immoral. I did a study a few years ago on “Fiji Water”. I know it was imported into Australia and to the US and it made a lot of money for some people. It really did come from Fiji. The irony was that on the same island, but on the other side of that island the local natives did not have a decent supply of running water and never benefited. It may have changed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2015 by in Health, home made and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,147 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

