Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 2

So last week I set about participating in a challenge involving getting rid of one item on the first day of the month, two on the second, three on the third etc. Right up till the dizzy heights of 28 days for February.

Last week has a grand total exceeding twenty eight things. It was very pleasing.

This week has also been successful but I’ve had to do some days in one go for time reasons.

Day 8

IMG_0818

Some suspects which I think end up lurking in every house here. Six ikea pencils.

Day 9

IMG_0819
Some stuff from sock and other drawers that I don’t think will photograph well.

Day 10

IMG_0820

A strange candle that’s gone wonky so wouldn’t burn, and a few other oddities.

Day 11

IMG_0821

Day 12

IMG_0822
A bag of rubbish!

Day 13

IMG_0823
More than thirteen books!

Day 14

IMG_0824
More oddments.

What amazes me is the fact that most of the clutter is from two drawers. That’s the majority of seventy seven items. In just two drawers.

At times I’ve considered that getting to day twenty eight might be terrible but the first week focusses on one storage unit and the second on another (apart from the books)

It makes me feel like I won’t get rid of very much.

There was also quite a lot of rubbish as well. That will be sorted out appropriately.

All this stuff is intended for re homing unless it’s irreparably damaged or totally useless.

13 comments on “Twitter Clutter Challenge: Week 2

  1. jemills56
    February 14, 2015

    Well done! I have been having a purge this month and the stalling point now is that I have to sift through photographs and paper work….most of which is probably important and has not been filed or shredded.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      February 14, 2015

      Do it. Think how good you’ll feel afterwards without the pile lurking in your mind.

      Like

      • jemills56
        February 14, 2015

        Its the piles lurking in the cupboards that worry me………..but dealing with it will lighten the mind.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        February 14, 2015

        I’m starting to despise my cupboards they seem to be hiding fugitives on purpose!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. bmary
    February 14, 2015

    That sounds like a good challenge! I fear my junk drawers…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. litadoolan
    February 14, 2015

    Such a great technique! I love the logic of this. Hearty thanks for this. I have 3 days to empty a room ready for the decorators so now I can get a wiggle on! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. faeriembassy
    February 14, 2015

    good on you.
    I love throwing stuff out which is a reaction to my mother who was a class A hoarder. Some years ago I returned to NZ and moved my parents out of a huge two storey house to another city and a much smaller place. By the time this happened my mum didnt really care and died a couple of years after the move. It made me feel physically sick at times not just the amount of clutter of eighty years of life but also having the responsibility of decision making. And then I go back and stay with Dad find keepsakes ( so I didnt get rid of everything) and scurry back home with them. Oh dear I do often find it a hard call.
    Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      February 15, 2015

      It’s a legacy of stuff alright. And it doesn’t really get easier.

      Like

  5. gaiainaction
    February 15, 2015

    That’s well done I would say! It’s a great way to de-clutter. This past few days I emptied a whole box of old papers that cannot be thrown out yet, I bought a good plastic box to put them away on the attic until they can be thrown out. Great space clearings 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      February 15, 2015

      I’m apprehensive about next week as the bigger numbers kick in….

      Liked by 1 person

      • gaiainaction
        February 15, 2015

        I would say you would do great as you have been doing so up to now! Your blog is inspiring me to keep at it too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        February 15, 2015

        Thank you. I’ll need to be very focussed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2015 by in recycling, Reduce and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 52,060 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#mushroom #netherlands #fungi #foraging #woodland #nature

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

