Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Innocent Knitwear

Have you ever seen woolly hats in the fridge?

Have I gone a bit daft?

Quite probably.

There’s woolly hats in the fridge.

Seriously.

2015/01/img_0281.jpg

Little woolly hats. It seems that the people at Innocent Smoothies have a cunning plan to make me feel like I’m loosing my mind

It turns out these daft little hats have a very positive purpose.

2015/01/img_0282.jpg

This hat helps elderly people that are alone.

For every hat wearing beverage sold they give some money to older people. Now as good initiatives go I decided I liked this because it’s so international. This display was in The Netherlands but they’re also doing it elsewhere. They’ve tailored the campaign to various countries. I’ve seen it in the UK and Ireland too.

2015/01/img_0284.jpg

I figure it’s a good one. It uses up scraps of yarn. People are busy making the hats and older people benefit.

Not sure what I’m going to do with this though.

2015/01/img_0286.jpg

Any ideas? (keep it clean)

12 comments on “Innocent Knitwear

  1. Ellen Hawley
    January 24, 2015

    Put ’em on your cucumbers. They’ll be completely useless but they’ll make you laugh.

    Liked by 3 people

    • lizard100
      January 24, 2015

      Brilliant. I feel a silly summer post in the offing!

      Like

  2. AnnetteM
    January 24, 2015

    Yes, we saw them in our Boots a good 6 months ago. I have to admit I took a bottle without a hat as I didn’t know what I would do with it; I must have been in a decluttering the house mood. What I should have done was paid for a bottle with a hat and then taken it back and put it on another bottle. Or maybe the donations just depend on how many hats they receive initially?
    Anyway, a very clever campaign. I guess they would make really good egg cosy – does anyone ever use those these days?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Roe's Cottage
    January 24, 2015

    I have to admit that I’m not keen on this. Innocent are now owned by Coke which has a pretty dire record of imposing its will on poor communities (more old people in Latin America would be helped I’m sure, if they would respect Unions and employment rights) and the amount that the charity gets is very small. When you take into account that each recieved hat (made by the public at their own expense) will have opened, sorted, be placed (by hand) onto each bottle, I would be surprised if the cost didn’t come to more than the donation.
    I’m not knocking the charity, or the people that buy them – after all, something is better than nothing – but I think this is more a marketing ploy than anything.
    But maybe I’m just a bitter cynic 😕

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      January 24, 2015

      I hadn’t picked up on the coke takeover. Shame. I was pleased to find a positive purpose for the hats but its certainly frustrating that they are up to no good. So sad that small companies with more sound intentions end up loosing their focus.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Roe's Cottage
        January 24, 2015

        Well, I think most of us would struggle to keep to our ideals when faced with the prospect of enough money to support us and our fanilies for several generations!!
        I’d like to think that the Innocent ideals spill into the main brand…. But it’s a long shot!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. wscottling
    January 24, 2015

    If you do buy more with the hats, you can always donate the hats to a charity with dolls. They’d probably fit on a doll’s head. Just a thought.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. BerLinda
    January 24, 2015

    Is a penis helmet warmer clean?
    Alternatively, you could put it on a boiled egg to keep it warm 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. OmniRunner
    January 24, 2015

    I have no idea what you could use these for. BerLinda may be onto something. I could wear one while running in the cold.
    It is an odd promotion and you have to wonder how much money is getting into the pockets of the old folks who knit these.
    I don’t trust corporations. They’re people you know. Atleast here in the USA.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hilda
    January 24, 2015

    I am always skeptical of this kind of campaign, but those hats are awfully cute.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2015 by in environment, World and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,196 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

