Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Bookworm in the Buurt

Local inspiration strikes again.

The resident chef was on a short visit to Delft the other day.

When he came home he was excited.
“Got something for you!”, he cheered!

A cake?

Chocolate?

Something purple, perhaps?

No, this time he had a blog post in mind! (Ah well!)

2015/01/img_0236.jpg

The buurtbieb was in a side street in front of a residential house.

Can you hear me thinking “I
want one!”

A buurtbieb translates as neighbourhood library! As simple as that. A beautiful box of books on a post.

The instructions said:

Boek in Beweging: leen, lees, ruil, geniet, plaats

Book in Motion: loan, read, swap, enjoy, deposit

2015/01/img_0239.jpg

Yet another simple, clever idea to share and recycle something locally.

2015/01/img_0237.jpg

12 comments on “Bookworm in the Buurt

  1. Julia Davis-Coombs
    January 20, 2015

    Awesome! I like this so much I’ve also ‘liked’ it on Facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    January 20, 2015

    These have spread like crazy in my city. There are even two less than a block from our house. Here they’re called Little Free Libraries. On the way to and from work I pass a Tardis-shaped one I keep meaning to take a picture of.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angela Gray
    January 20, 2015

    We have one just like that in our street!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jpeggytaylor
    January 20, 2015

    They are wonderful aren’t they. We don’t have them here – or at least not in my part – of the UK but I’ve read about them in the US. I remember a petition supporting a small boy who was having some trouble with the authorities in his state because he wanted to have a little library outside his house! Sadly we are seeing too many libraries being closed down – libraries are part of civilisation for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bymarion
    January 20, 2015

    I can definitely hear you thinking!
    This is great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. downmyfront
    January 20, 2015

    There’s an old red telephone box in the town near me and someone has been leaving books in there as a kind if library/ swap shop. I read about it in the local newspaper. No one knows who is responsible… I think it’s a lovely idea. We have a bookshelf at work and I’ve also seen it at campsites. Take a book and leave one for someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rambling Woods
    January 21, 2015

    New to me but I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ontheedgegardening
    January 21, 2015

    What a brilliant thing to do, books are so important, as is sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2015 by in environment, recycling and tagged , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,874 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

