Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Reading Ann Frank

I have decided to read more this year.

I found a reading challenge and have created a list of books, both paper and digital from books I already own.

One of the first was The Diary of Ann Frank.

A book I meant to read at school, or a journal.

I’ve been to the famous Ann Frank house a number of times since coming to The Netherlands. But in all that time I’d never read the book. I owned it but that was it.

I guess knowing about her story got in the way. I sort of thought I probably had the message.

So when I sat down to read her words I realised I’d started reading it a few times and not got past the first few pages, again I think assumed I knew what was there.

Now I have read it, I have had this girl in my mind for days.

I had so little idea how amazing she was and how smart her writing is too.

First of all, I understood for the first time that she has the voice of a teenager that’s really familiar. It’s the voice in my head when I was thirteen. It’s the voice of a teenager today too.

Her relationship with her family members and the other Annex inhabitants replicates family now and when I was growing up too.

One aspect of this story that struck me was the familiarity with her environment. She mentions the bijenkorf which is a department store a few streets from the house.

The street names are familiar to me too. She describes dutch foods and festivals including Sinterklaas.

The reality of her life became so plain it was breathtaking.

A normal girl living in The Netherlands.

I hadn’t realised how much connection they had with the outside world. The British radio kept them informed. They knew when people were being taken, they knew what the world was doing.

As the direction of the war shifted and the allies began to approach, the Franks knew they were coming. The gradual process was mapped out. The liberation got very close.

Just not close enough.

The restrictions on daily life are described too. The pressure on people from the occupying troops, to hand over those in hiding.

The house was also burgled a number of times. The anxiety this causes is palpable. Their secret life is under threat from so many directions. Neighbours who might over hear, employees in the warehouse, night watchmen, thieves, policemen….. The list is long.

I learned so much about myself reading this book. It sounds like a cliche.

One of the bee keepers we work with is about the same age that Ann Frank would have been, had she lived.

He has talked about some of his memories of the occupation, hiding, and going without food.

For Ann Frank’s existence to become so real and in such close proximity was something I hadn’t really anticipated.

That reality is what has remained in my thoughts. A normal girl in the world which I live in. Normal yet special; ordinary yet extraordinary,: an immortal story with such a harsh reality.

It made me see even more clearly how precious freedom is and how significant every day should be.

If it’s a book you’ve meant to read it’s worth finding the time.

I was in Amsterdam this week, walking down a canal in the evening. The building have such timeless structure. Bicycles whizzed past in the twilight; nothing much changed.

2015/01/img_0091.jpg

It’s seventy years ago that Auschwitz concentration camp was liberated this year.

10 comments on “Reading Ann Frank

  1. aspiriteddiva
    January 13, 2015

    Diary of Ann frank…I really wanna read this book asap!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dalg
    January 13, 2015

    I’ve owned this book for about 15 years, and have never got round to reading it.
    After reading this, I will make a point of getting it read this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. irenedesign2011
    January 13, 2015

    This is one by many books as should be a school book in history all over the world. We can all learn something from that book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BerLinda
    January 13, 2015

    I’ll put it on the list – looking for a good read and there’s bound to be a copy in the 2nd hand bookstore here!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laurin Lindsey
    January 13, 2015

    Ann Franks book transcends time. I was actually thinking to read it again after being reminded of it while watching the film The Fault in Our Stars. It would give to much away to say why but it has to do with a trip to Amsterdam. A friend wanted to watch this film and I probably would have never seen it otherwise. It is not just a story of young love…it is a very powerful film about life.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim in Fiji
    January 19, 2015

    I get really weepy thinking about Anne Frank. I’m so happy her diary lives on and is appreciated by new readers….

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      January 19, 2015

      Her diary is very light and positive but yes we all know the ending.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2015 by in World and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,874 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

