Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Crafty and skilful and a good deed!

I wrote recently about some of the Christmas stuff that I find frustrating but I do still participate in certain aspects. This is primarily when we’re with other family members.

So this year as we had planned trips to visit family I did buy a few gifts.

Now I have some rules. Wherever possible I only buy gifts that are fair trade or hand made.

I also make a few things myself. Generally these are useful and consumable like soap or jam.

I thought I’d share one such example primarily because it was unusual and clever.

And

It was also a story of goodwill and trust in the modern world. What’s not to like?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/aaf/42966774/files/2015/01/img_0022.jpg

This delightful picture is hand made from sewn fabric in a patchwork style. I think it’s tremendous.
I’m really liked the design and the choice of fabric and think it’s a clever idea.

We went looking for them at a fair in Rotterdam after a recommendation from a friend who had seen them at another craft event.

But here’s the great bit. It was so nice I liked a pair of them.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/aaf/42966774/files/2015/01/img_0024.jpg

But the challenge was, at the fair where they were on sale, there was no payment except cash.

And I only had enough money to pay for one.

Without batting an eyelid the creator of these beautiful pictures simply told me to transfer the money.

When I got home!

Quiltshop Andrea

How cool is that?

Now, I think that’s a good example of goodwill in the same named season.

I did transfer the money straight away.

Did you experience any great examples of trust and kindness in the festive season?

10 comments on “Crafty and skilful and a good deed!

  1. Julia Davis-Coombs
    January 9, 2015

    Fantastic! I love your ethos, and lean that way (especially for gifts) myself. And I’m a quilter–primarily as a means of re-using materials, so the items themselves really caught my eye. I think they are particularly effective works of art. How wonderful that you were able to find such a good combination of ethics/humanity for Christmas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is absolutely stunning 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Roe's Cottage
    January 9, 2015

    It wasn’t at Christmas, but when my sister’s husband died I bought her two prints from a paperwork artist (Caroline Rose Art on Etsy/Facebook) that I knew she admired instead of sending flowers. When I explained that I wanted the prints delivered directly with a note included, and why, Caroline added another print from herself (completely free of charge) as a mark of her own condolences. I was so touched by her kindness – it was something you would rarely experience with big brands or stores.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Roe's Cottage
      January 9, 2015

      PS. The patchwork is GREAT! Love the use of flora material… May inspire me to try an allotment one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        January 9, 2015

        Now thats a brilliant idea! How inspired!

        Like

    • lizard100
      January 9, 2015

      Thats such a moving story.

      Like

  4. Emma Sarah Tennant
    January 11, 2015

    That’s a great idea to make Christmas more meaningful. This year I made a donation to charity instead of buying cards, and created an ebook as a Christmas greeting to family and friends. Gifts of honey also and other crafty items are also given along with a monetary limit of what we do spend in our family. Christmas shouldn’t be about shopping, it should be about home, family and appreciation for what we already have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      January 11, 2015

      Exactly. We gave honey and home made soap and jam too. Better to be less consumerist. We still send cards to the non digital relatives.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. John Coleman
    January 15, 2015

    Yeah, my wife Kathy and I bought a small house and are preparing to sell our current behemoth. As the snow flies this winter, a neighbor at the new place has been keeping our sidewalk clear. Kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2015 by in Art, Craft and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,883 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

