Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Sharon oh, Sharon!

Flashback!

When I was a kid we sometimes bought unusual fruit. There was a big covered indoor market in the city and it has loads of fruit stalls.
I’m remember once seeing an unusual fruit of s golden orange colour with a star shaped green pics where it would’ve been attached.

It was called Sharon.

Sharon fruit.

We bought one.

It was ‘orrible!

It was a pucker fruit. It made your lips pucker with the juiceless ness of it.

Guess what?

It wasn’t ripe.

Flash forward to last week. A colleague of mine called Sharon was sitting in the staff room. She had a plate of cut fruit. It was golden orange with a star shape green piece where it would’ve joined the plant.

I said
“Sharon, is that Sharon fruit?”

“Yes!” She said.

She gave me a piece. It was divine! Juicy and sweet and orangey.

I then wondered if you could grow it. This is my normal position these days. I looked it up.

Now the thing is that I’m a bit obsessed with food miles. I want to try hard to eat things that grow near by. And that grow easily. And in particular things that don’t have to be cooked.

When I looked it up it said. “Winter hardy, grows easily. But doesn’t transport well!”

Sounds ideal.

The Dutch name is Kaki fruit. (But it’s not camouflaged or green.)

It’s also called persimmon.

I have eaten it once in between. It was in Italy staying with friends at Christmas. It was almost rotten. But apparently it needs to be very ripe indeed.

IMG_9276.JPG

So I’ve ordered a tree! That’s how I roll. Watch this space for the planting.

Do you have any unusual produce that you grow?

Do you have childhood memories of fruits?

5 comments on “Sharon oh, Sharon!

  1. AnnetteM
    December 7, 2014

    I don’t think I have ever tried that. I guess as a child we had a lot more local produce – whatever was in season. I remember going blackberry picking every year and Mum would make delicious blackberry and apple crumbles. Nothing unusual though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 7, 2014

      Sounds delicious. I think it was a 1970s thing. Unusual fruit arriving for the first time.

      Like

  2. We had persimmons growing in the backyard of a rental property when we were growing up. I didn’t like the texture myself but the wildlife loved them. I have since tried them again within the last 12 months and didn’t mind them. There are two varieties I was told. The soft mushy one the one that you eat when they are crisp like an nashi pear.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim in Fiji
    December 8, 2014

    I was going to ask you if this wasn’t also persimmon, and then you answered it. I grew up with a persimmon tree, and you narrated my experience exactly! Thing is, where I was raised “pucker” was part of the alluring mystique of the fruit. People where I grew up called it the Kissing Fruit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,995 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

