Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Following a Tree: December

Way back in March when my blog commitment had just begun, I came across a meme from Lucy an loose and leafy .

It was a simple idea. Pick a tree and follow it. So simple that I joined in. Each month on the 7th I looked at the tree and photographed her and told her story.

March tree

April tree

May tree

June tree

July tree

August tree

September tree

October tree

November tree

In that time the tree has flourished, been pruned and now lost its leaves. Ive seen it in the wet and the dry and looked at the lichens. I’ve measured it and treasured it.

But this week something else in the tree story happened.

It’s neighbouring tree has been removed.

Yes it’s gone.

It was very strange to see the space where the other tree used to be.
I searched my photos for an image where it could be seen in the background.

IMG_9367-0.JPG

The other tree is gone.

IMG_9369.JPG

Our tree is just fine now. Ironically one of the reasons I chose it was because it was one of the oldest in the street and I wondered whether it would be there much longer. It seems it could soon be gone after all.

I’ve really enjoyed this meme. It’s been so interesting to take notice of my tree.

6 comments on “Following a Tree: December

  1. solarbeez
    December 11, 2014

    I always feel bad when a tree must be removed. We had to remove one too, but it will get new life as a bee hive. Are you still making a log bee hive?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 13, 2014

      The log hive is coming along. It’s not finished yet.

      Like

  2. coastcard
    December 13, 2014

    I hope your tree stays for you … And yes, the Tree Following has been a really good project for us all to do together!

    http://carolinegillwildlife.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/tree-following-silver-birch-in-december.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 13, 2014

      So good to find people with similar interests.

      Like

  3. Erika
    December 13, 2014

    Lucky it wasn’t your tree that disappeared.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2014 by in conservation and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

