Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

More Chocolate with a conscience

Noticed this the other day.

IMG_9273.JPG

I’ve mentioned my keen enthusiasm for chocolate before but I don’t want to eat chocolate that’s negative.

So when I see small writing with a picture of a seahorse I’m cheered up.

So I decided to look it up.

Project Seahorse.

It seems that every box of these seahorse and seashell shaped Belgian chocolates donates some money to this organisation.

Seahorse are in trouble. I’ve written about them a few times.

So I’m glad to see them getting help.

IMG_9274-0.JPG

Is there a food with dodgy ethics that you have an answer for?

18 comments on “More Chocolate with a conscience

  1. ladyofthecakes
    December 5, 2014

    They are in trouble. ESPECIALLY in my house. If they are made of chocolate.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Adelaid
    December 5, 2014

    It is really difficult to get chocolate which is fair trade. My favourite is Moo free chocolate! Theirs is fair trade organic conscience πŸ™‚ I like the look of seahorse chocolates πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AnnetteM
    December 5, 2014

    Oooh good – another excuse to eat chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AnnetteM
    December 5, 2014

    I send my granddaughters in Japan Advent calendars without chocolate. When I told my daughter this, she accused me of eating the chocolate before posting – can you believe that!!! She knows me too well!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. leckerfoodie
    December 7, 2014

    Dear Lizard, I am looking for some infos on these kind of quality guarantees printed on food packages, i.e. how would I know that the sea horse’s really get the money… Do they provide infos how to evaluate it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 7, 2014

      There is a link on the seahorse trust web page acknowledging the donations too.

      Like

      • leckerfoodie
        December 7, 2014

        Super! They make it lazy-people friendly; I like that πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim in Fiji
    December 8, 2014

    The ethics problem with chocolates is not whether some of the profits reach a sexy do-gooder cause, but whether the GROWERS are getting an equitable payment for the raw product. Is this chocolate “fair trade”? I’ll tell you, as a farmer in Fiji with no farming cooperatives, I know that the Fiji farmers are getting totally shafted by the middlemen and vendors for some of our crops. We provide the land, the labour and take 99% of the risks (weather, pestilence, overabundance and price bottoms out, etc). Farmers need to be paid fairly for the raw product!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. chevaliascookingwithnature
    January 3, 2015

    Thats a great way to help seahorses and the cravings. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2014 by in conservation, environment, ocean and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

