Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Down by the railway line

Allotments are traditionally created in bits of land that are hard to use for anything else.

Ours is on a strip of land alongside a railway line. It’s almost a cliche.

The trains pass by regularly and overhead power lines run over head. Both creating noise from time to time.

Mean while we beaver away at our work trying to get things done before inclement weather cuts in.

One such attempt too place at the weekend.

A quick prune of the autumn raspberries.

(My you tube shares have been a bit hit and miss lately. So we’ll see)

The rain hit sooner than expected but I like the wide angle time lapse anyway.

What’s happening on your veg plot in November?

20 comments on “Down by the railway line

  1. Uncle Spike
    December 2, 2014

    HIT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grower
    December 2, 2014

    Cute video. If only I could work over my beds so quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AnnetteM
    December 2, 2014

    Great video – you both look so industrious as I am sure you were!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OmniRunner
    December 2, 2014

    Here in New England, garden season is over. I’m just covering my garlic with leaves as I collect them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 2, 2014

      We plant our garlic now in the winter. And onions too. Its just starting to be frosty.

      Like

      • OmniRunner
        December 5, 2014

        I do onions in the spring. Planting them makes me so hungry! The smell is incredible.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        December 6, 2014

        We plant them now to give them a longer growing season.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Simon Baddeley
    December 2, 2014

    Joy. It took me years to dig at this rate but I can dig my whole 200 square metre plot now in just over 25 seconds (:)) Ha ha…NOT. When I took my plot it was generally understood that our ‘topsoil’ didn’t deserve that name. This was me working my plot in 2010. https://vimeo.com/13255339
    By the sweat of thy brow shalt thou earn thy bread. I’ve learned the strength of that Biblical curse, but amid the labour I’ve extracted so much content…https://flic.kr/p/dKcKkR

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      December 2, 2014

      Blimey. Pick axe! Our allotment is like dust. Its so sandy that its luke the beach.

      Like

      • Simon Baddeley
        December 2, 2014

        Only use that mattock now for preparing a boundary path. I’ve been introduced to the azalea (what a tool!) and the long handled fork (saved my back). With compost, manure and digging and constant stone removal the soil is becoming friendlier https://flic.kr/p/piCFJ4

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        December 2, 2014

        Azada? We use one of those too. Well i say we. I dont mean me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Simon Baddeley
        December 2, 2014

        Ruddy spellchecker – I meant ‘azada’ not azalea

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        December 2, 2014

        I know. But i had to laugh. Digging with an azalea cant be that effective!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. circusgardener
    December 2, 2014

    Delightful! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Simon Baddeley
      December 2, 2014

      I guess I’m in quite a lovely place at the Victoria Jubilee Allotments, next to Handsworth Park in Birmingham. A group of us campaigned for over 10 years to save the place from being built over, and winning our fight makes working my plot now all the more satisfying…http://youtu.be/gMymGBDEk4I

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Simon Baddeley
    December 2, 2014

    Summer on the allotment

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Blicky
    December 20, 2014

    Excellent post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in allotment and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 52,285 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

#snow #netherlands

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

