Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

NaBloPoMo comes to an end

And I almost didn’t post by accident. I schedule posts as hadn’t realised there wasn’t one in the pipeline!

Oops.

Blogging is about habits.

NaBloPoMo is about creating a habit to me; daily posting. This month has seen a good variety of things.

Bee-related, seeds, recycling, food, vegetarian, environmental things etc. I hope it’s been a typical month as that’s the kind of month that we tend to have.

In two more months I will have had a post a day for the whole year with any luck.

In the last twelve months I’ve had a few quite big successes. And although November isn’t normally a time for summing up annual achievements it is a good one for me.

There’s been five very significant achievements.

Non smelly answer

Just over a year ago I stopped using regular commercial anti-perspirant. I’d got sick of the aluminium and alcohol based options but hadn’t found an alternative that worked well until then. Now I have.

Giving up Shampoo too

Since Easter, this year I’ve also stopped using shampoo on my hair. Now I just wash with water. My hair seems better as a result. And it saved me money too. Both of these achievements are positive in my environmental journey.

After several years of living a certain way you can start to feel like there’s little more to be achieved. So finding some good new habits and solutions is very positive.

Blogging every day for ten months

Now that’s been good because I’m not so proud of what we are doing. Documenting and recording those habits and sharing them is very enjoyable.

Quitting the Dairy

Almost twenty years ago I gave up eating meat. Largely because the meat food chain was so distorted my bad animal husbandry it didn’t feel safe.

This year, after some quite miserable problems with congestion and bronchitis I gave up milk and yogurt to see if it would help. And for the first time in twenty odd years I had zero hay fever. Also on our dive trip the blocked up problems were much reduced. I’ve had a cough too but it’s far less bad than it was.

Meanwhile our household behaviour has less impact on animals and is thus reducing the greenhouse gases from the dairy industry that the milk and yogurt used to create.

Cheese, chocolate and butter are still there but it’s still a big reduction.

Growing more and more

This year since October 2013, we also committed to getting more from our allotment. The blog has helped that too. So we ensured that we planted in the autumn last year and from then on have achieved far more. Now we’ve acquired a second plot to increase our yield further. Another great target.

All in all its been a really good year!

Here’s to next one!

IMG_8449.JPG

4 comments on “NaBloPoMo comes to an end

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo comes to an end | Gaia Gazette

  2. Rambling Woods
    December 1, 2014

    Yes, here is to the next one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chevaliascookingwithnature
    January 3, 2015

    I got rid of shampoo too. I wash my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar my hair seems to like the more natural way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      January 4, 2015

      Very good. Water on its own saves me a lot of effort. It took a while to adjust.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2014 by in Blogging, environment and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,797 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

