Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

GF Jerusalem Artichoke Soufflé

One of our most prolific, low effort, permanent crops is the Jerusalem artichoke. I keep trying to get rid of them but they continue to thrive.

I wrote about them the other day. It’s a curious vegetable. Neither real artichoke nor from Jerusalem.

It has a wicked side effect too. It creates a lot of wind. There’s an antidote called Bonen kruid that we’ve used a couple of times.

But the proof is in the pudding or should that be soufflé?

IMG_8930.JPG

I rely on a really solid vegetarian cookbook. It’s from Cranks which can only be described as a UK vegetarian institution. This restaurant group was particularly significant in the sixties and seventies and I think it was the first veggie restaurant I’ve ever ate in.

Now I think their cook books are more well known as the restaurants has limited success eventually.

Even still when it comes to Jerusalem artichokes this was the book for me.

The photo coming out of the oven is a bit blurred. I used corn flour instead of wheat flour and polenta instead of bread crumbs and soya milk instead of regular milk. I don’t give the recipe as its it my own by there’s a similar one here.

IMG_8919.JPG

But it dished up well.

IMG_8925.JPG

The soufflé was light and fluffy and Rose pretty well. It was tasty with the additional summer savoury and only time will tell if it has been a success.

2 comments on “GF Jerusalem Artichoke Soufflé

  1. Hilda
    November 20, 2014

    Perhaps I will be able to dig up a few more j.a.s to make this. I think I would like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2014 by in vegetarian and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,230 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

