Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Jerusalem Artichokes: watch out!

There’s a very strange vegetable roaming on our plot.

Some years ago we bought six knobbly tubers at an organic green grocers.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Since then we get around 200 Jerusalem artichokes every year. They are healthy, prolific and neglected. Even though we made a submerged quarantine area from concrete slabs they ‘walked’ into our plot and the plot next door.

Even though I’ve dug them over, oh so carefully many times, they return ceaselessly season after season.

Meanwhile I love them.

The Jerusalem artichoke is a strange creature. IMG_8868.JPG

Nutty looking and nutty tasting.

It has several names.

The Jerusalem artichoke (Helianthus tuberosus), also called sunroot, sunchoke, earth apple or topinambour, is a species of sunflower native to eastern North America, and found from eastern Canada and Maine west to North Dakota, and south to northern Florida and Texas.[1] It is also cultivated widely across the temperate zone for its tuber, which is used as a root vegetable.[2]

Wikipedia

Jerusalem Artichoke may be from the Italian name, girasole. It’s got no connection to Italy.

Meanwhile I’ve learned a thing or two about them.

First off boiling them in their skins is advisable. Then the skin can be split and slide off with ease. The though of trying to peel them first is scary.

They can be pressure cooked in five mins or so.

Secondly. (Warning: bodily function alert)
Mr Green Lizard has a different special name for these knobbly chokes. He adds a simple f at the front of their name.

How can I put this?

They’re windier than Marilyn’s white dress!

But
Don’t let this put you off. There is a preventative solution.

bonenkruid otherwise known as bean herb. It’s an antidote for the wind that such veg produce. I’ve given the English link to summer savoury, the more polite name for the herb. No mention of beans there Eh?

Third fact. Chickens love them. Hooray an answer to the prolific quantities some greedy hens.

(They’ll be pleased of a mention!)

IMG_8871.JPG

I’m going to attempt to cook with them. But that’s another post.

15 comments on “Jerusalem Artichokes: watch out!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    November 12, 2014

    will have to try these in the new garden when I move going to dig up my globe one and take to new garden

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 12, 2014

      Oh linda its so good to see a message from you. I hope all is well.

      Like

  2. Roe's Cottage
    November 12, 2014

    I’ve grown these in a old drum this year, but I’ve yet to try them in the kitchen. Thanks for the windy warning!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyofthecakes
    November 12, 2014

    We call them Fartychokes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sheenmeem
    November 12, 2014

    These look like the ones available in my home country, and are called Arvee. They are boiled first till they are tender. The skins then can be easily peeled off. They can be added to cooked meat, or as a vegetable dish. Sauté 6 chopped garlic, 3 slit green peppers in oil. Add 1/2 tea spoon turmeric. Quickly stir and add Arvee. Stir to give them color. Sprinkle salt, red chilly powder and grounded cummin. Stir till they are heated through, and serve with bread.
    I hope you like the recipe. Sheen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hilda
    November 12, 2014

    I also have more than I can cook, so I dry them and make them into flour. It is a good way to store them and they seem to be less lethal than the fresh ones. Thanks for the tip on the summer savoury. Will have to see if I can find some. Look forward to seeing what else you do with this funny veg.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 12, 2014

      Fantastic idea to msje them jnto flour. What do you make with it?

      Like

  6. Snoskred
    November 13, 2014

    Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    Well I can tell right away this blog is a keeper. 🙂 I have chickens too.

    I have never had a Jerusalem artichoke. I plant silverbeet and kale for the girls, but they get more than enough treats as it is.

    Yesterday they got lactose free yoghurt and they love that almost as much as tuna and mealworms. Though I noticed, oddly, that there was no trumpeting, bagerking, or pecking order stuff going on, which always happens with the other treats. They just stood in a circle around the container and ate that yoghurt like it was manna from heaven, silently, getting yoghurt all over their beaks.

    They do not know, there are 3 more containers of lactose free yoghurt in the fridge coming to them as a surprise over the weekend. We’re due to have a scorcher tomorrow – nearly 100F – so they will get something cool and refreshing around lunch time.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 13, 2014

      They live meal worms so much. We want to make our own.

      Like

  7. maggie
    November 13, 2014

    I’ve cooked them a few different ways now, been happy with the result every time.

    They do earn that added ‘f’ but method of cooking does make a difference. Raw in salads is the worst, but cooked in a soup does seem to reduce the effect. Thankfully, because they’re v tasty I reckon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,265 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,583 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

