Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Mushrooming into the world: Part 1

I’ve got a bit of a mushroom thing going on.

I posted a walk full of mushrooms the other day and thought about my previous attempts to grow mushrooms we could eat.

I’ve tried kits and packs and various things.

The kits have been explored by consumer sites and declared as poor value for money.

So I checked out the youtube gurus for a way of growing mushrooms ourselves.

I decided to try this method this time growing oyster mushrooms from coffee grounds

The videos I found suggested using coffee grounds and straw and store bought mushrooms that have a root piece or mycelium intact.

I decided to give it a go.

Given that the mushrooms you buy still have a use in a meal, it’s basically a free way of doing it.

Luckily I had all the suggested equipment to hand. I don’t have a humidifier but I’m aiming for as small scale on this project. Otherwise I had most of what I needed.

I used tea leaves in one jar and coffee in the other.

I’ve used two kinds of mushrooms. It was hard to get some with a pronounced lower stem. So I’m not sure what will happen.

The two jars are now set up the same way that the guy on the video used.

NaBloPoMo 6/30

IMG_8828.JPG

NaBloPoMo 6/30

17 comments on “Mushrooming into the world: Part 1

  1. Roe's Cottage
    November 6, 2014

    Ooh, this could be interesting. I’ve um and aw’d about those kits for years but they are so expensive – I have access to a lot of horse poo so if this works as a starter, I may follow in your footsteps.
    One thing did you mean ‘small scale’ as opposed to ‘mallet scale’?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 6, 2014

      Small yes. Thanks. But mallet sounds interesting too though : )

      Like

  2. Ellen Hawley
    November 6, 2014

    Some friends gave me a mushroom kit once. I don’t know what I did wrong, but it never did grow any mushrooms.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 6, 2014

      We used one of those polystyrene box kits once. It was Ā£10 or something and we got about six mushrooms. Expensive rubbush.

      Like

  3. jpeggytaylor
    November 6, 2014

    I have considered growing mushrooms before but never did try it. I shall watch your experiments with interest!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 6, 2014

      Well its working so far. I started the jars about five days ago and the mycelium has started to grow. We shall see. This time it gasnt cost anything. We ate the mushrooms and are ysing tea leaves and coffee grounds that are rubbish. The straw will be a small cost too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jpeggytaylor
        November 6, 2014

        Can I ask, are they just regular white mushrooms that you started with? And, it is just the stalk part of the mushroom that you have placed in your jars? This is really interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        November 6, 2014

        They were chanterelles and another type that i dont know the name of. I just cut a tiny stalk piece at the bottom. Where it looks like the root.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jpeggytaylor
        November 6, 2014

        Ah, chanterelles! I am guessing you picked them yourself? Fungi are fascinating. We like to spot them in the woods when we are out walking but I have never seen chanterelles growing nearby to us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        November 6, 2014

        No theres a mushroom stall at the local saturday market.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jpeggytaylor
        November 6, 2014

        šŸ˜€ How useful is that! I shall watch out for interesting mushrooms in our town markets too!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        November 6, 2014

        It all fell into place.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. permiechick
    November 6, 2014

    I’ve wanted to give this method a try but haven’t had a chance yet. I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. BerLinda
    November 7, 2014

    God, I hate mushrooms. But good luck šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rambling Woods
    November 11, 2014

    Really! I hadn’t heard of that

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2014 by in grow your own and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,147 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

