Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Darn it!

My socks often have additional ventilation. Sometimes as a result of over wear, sometimes because I’ve had them forever.

Socks have important connections for me. Colours, places, people. Now that I’m not buying new clothes I’m aware that more of them are becoming thin.

Throwing things away is a bit of a challenge. It’s good not to have too many things and I do need to clear out unused items but sometimes we should be more aware of wasting things.

So I don’t want to buy new socks and I don’t want to throw my socks away. My socks.

Hmmm!

My mother had the answer.

Darn it!

It’s simple enough but we never make the time. For me it’s good to make the time. Darning socks and tights is also very worthwhile as the rest of the sock is often still in very good condition.

It was also a great opportunity to use my mothers expertise and share a ‘traditional’ skill.

What do you do to make things last longer?

Do you have any top tips?IMG_8639.JPG

26 comments on “Darn it!

  1. dianaroggenbuckebrown
    October 29, 2014

    In this day and age where everything is so quickly replaceable it’s good to see you going to that extra effort to hold onto your things. My mum is big on not wasting food especially and she has many creative ways to use up leftovers etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanna
    October 29, 2014

    I learnt how to darn after I’d knitted my first pair of socks, because they quickly got holes in the heels (hopefully not a reflection on my knitting ability! 😉 ). I agree that it’s great to make the time to do it, and it really helps stop you from just mindlessly going out and buying something new instead.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ellen Hawley
    October 29, 2014

    The only time I ever tried darning a sock it was like walking on waffle-shaped sandpaper, which kind of discouraged me from repeating the act. But I do make old socks into catnip toys: cut a square or a toe, fill it with catnip, tie it with string, and add cat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 30, 2014

      I guess sometimes the holes are too big. But adapting thrm to another purpose is great.

      Like

  4. expatlingo
    October 29, 2014

    Ok, I need to see s photo of the darned socks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 29, 2014

      Exceeded my upload quota for today on my holidays. When I get back I’ll oblige.

      Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 30, 2014

      Ill be home soon b

      Like

    • lizard100
      October 30, 2014

      Theres a photo now. Looks like it snowed on my sock! Got me thinking about doung designs. Though im not sure how!

      Like

  5. permiechick
    October 29, 2014

    Sounds like the perfect activity for long winter evenings. Whether it works or not, it’s always good to explore the many other lives a particular object can live before finally throwing it “away”.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. BerLinda
    October 29, 2014

    I’ve started getting things fixed instead of throwing them away and buying new ones. Times were tough in LV 😉 And I’ve learned how to say – this needs a new zip in German now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 30, 2014

      A very useful phrase. Is zip ritz? It os in dutch.

      Like

      • BerLinda
        October 30, 2014

        Reisverschloss I think! I had to practise it all the way on the train 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 31, 2014

      Reis is travel in dutch. How funny!

      Like

      • BerLinda
        October 31, 2014

        Reis is rice in German – or a million other words 😉 Verschloss means to close I think – or lock. There’s probably some logic there somewhere… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        October 31, 2014

        Travel lock, rice lock, realistically zip isnt the most logical word. Tend towards assuming its from the zipping sound/motion or onomatopoeia or summat

        Liked by 1 person

  7. OmniRunner
    October 29, 2014

    I keep my tools clean and keep them out of the weather. Sometimes I wear a suit or suit pants to work so I can wear my crappy dress shoes and give my nice casual shoes a day off.
    I also rotate all of my running shirts. I wear the long sleeve ones in the winter, short sleeve in the summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 30, 2014

      Thats a nice idea. Dress up for work. I do that too with clothes i never used to wear.

      Like

  8. Julia Davis-Coombs
    October 30, 2014

    I learned to darn as a teenager. These days I only darn special favorites–like the pair of socks my mom knitted for me back in the ’70s, which I still use.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jpeggytaylor
    October 31, 2014

    Darning is such a useful skill isn’t it? I darn socks and holes in favourite woolly jumpers. Another ‘repair strategy’ of mine is turning shirt collars. I have a very popular page on my blog about this – it seems lots of people nowadays are interested in mending things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. expatlingo
    October 31, 2014

    I am impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2014 by in Reduce, Refashion, thrift and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 51,718 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

