Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

The Last Tomato

IMG_8509.JPG

I spent the other evening checking through lots of seed pods.

This year’s been a great opportunity to save more seeds and I’ve made sure that I’ve kept as many as i can.

Particularly as these days big business has made so many attempts to stop ordinary people from saving their own seed.

At lunch yesterday this prompted a little skullduggery. I had neglected to keep a tomato.

My colleague had supplied some cherry tomato plants that I had really enjoyed.

She had one of them for her lunch. When I started talking about the seeds the next thing was that I acquired a piece of the little fella.

IMG_8510.JPG

IMG_8511.JPG

So I’ve got some seeds now.

13 comments on “The Last Tomato

  1. suchled
    October 25, 2014

    You cunning devil. What I hate are the vegetables that are promoted by the supermarkets and they are sterile and you cant plant from them. I like your vibe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 31, 2014

      I’ve grown plants from supermarket veg in the past. It’s quite funny. Never sure how it will turn out. I’d never thought of it as cunning before!

      Like

      • suchled
        October 31, 2014

        No. It’s not cunning. I just love it when anyone beats the big monopolies.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Laurin Lindsey
    October 25, 2014

    I hope lots of people are saving seeds! I have read some very scary things about what the big business wants to do about controlling all the seeds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 31, 2014

      There’s plenty of skullduggery from big business unfortunately.

      Like

  3. tootlepedal
    October 25, 2014

    I hope that your seeds germinate well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. baug1231
    October 26, 2014

    Best of luck with your seeds! It’s great that you’ll have a story behind your plants next season instead of just saying you got them from a packet.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grower
    October 26, 2014

    That’s funny! I still have so many other seeds I only saved from one tomato and one pepper this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 31, 2014

      Oooh! I still need to save peppers. We have a couple ripening!

      Like

  6. Hilda
    October 27, 2014

    I have saved a record number of seeds this year for myself and other gardeners in a seed exchange. I just hope my storage and labelling systems work!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kim in Fiji
    October 27, 2014

    Cheers for seed saving!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2014 by in allotment and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,406 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,590 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

