Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Stinking cold!

So here I am feeling miserable and trying to look on the bright side but the cold germs have struck again.

These days such things are rare.

I’ve found that since I gave up dairy milk and yogurt at Easter I’ve breathed a lot easier.

Hayfever never materialised either which was a big shock after thirty years.

So what do I do when I have a cold?

I’m a big fan of vitamin C, and I take Echinacea drops in water too.

IMG_7870.JPG

I like to use a menthol rub to open my air passages and sometimes inhale from a bowl of hot water.

This year I’ve got another natural remedy called Plantago. It’s a plant extract that reduces catarrh. It seems to be helping already.

And of course honey and lemon!

IMG_7869.JPG

And I expect we’ll have something hot with chillis, cayenne, garlic, onions and turmeric for dinner. That should really help!

19 comments on “Stinking cold!

  1. Sarah
    October 4, 2014

    Hope you feel better soon Liz 🙂

    Like

  2. Ellen Hawley
    October 4, 2014

    A friend recommended astragalus, which I now use when I know I’ve been exposed to a bug. It does seem to boost the immune system. Normally I come down with everything that’s going the rounds, but I’ve actually missed a few bugs lately.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      October 4, 2014

      That’s a new one. I shall look out for if.

      Like

    • lizard100
      October 11, 2014

      I’ve managed to get some today. Thanks for the tip!

      Like

  3. Hilda
    October 4, 2014

    Hope you feel better soon. It sounds like you are taking good care of yourself.

    Like

  4. tootlepedal
    October 4, 2014

    I used to rely on whisky.

    Like

    • lizard100
      October 4, 2014

      Unfortunately can’t stand the stuff! But it’s a good tip.

      Like

  5. BerLinda
    October 4, 2014

    Is hot whiskey allowed? That normally cures what ails me 😉 Have around 15 of them and it will kill any germs and you’ll wake up with no hangover as there’s so much water involved – bingo 🙂

    Like

  6. solarbeez
    October 5, 2014

    I stopped drinking milk waaaay back when I realized it was giving me vertigo.

    Garlic soup is good for a cold. I’ve heard of putting a clove of garlic in your mouth and ‘sucking’ on it, but I haven’t been brave enough to try it.

    Like

    • lizard100
      October 5, 2014

      That’s a great idea! I think I’ll look for a recipe!

      Like

  7. sadnesstheory
    October 6, 2014

    Sometimes it’s just hard to avoid colds 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2014 by in allotment, Health and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,718 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

