Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Saggy old Cloth cat: What about the wrinkles?

http://youtu.be/DlP7l8vkNOk
Bag puss, a children’s TV character from my childhood. A saggy old cloth cat.

If you’ve read my blog over the past few months you’ll have picked up on my efforts to reduce the number of products that I use. I want to reduce the chemicals and their complications for the benefit of my health and the planet. This has resulted in no more shampoo, a deodorant that’s natural and just soap for washing. The only product left that I want to tackle is moisturizer. I haven’t found the answer to that one yet.

Meanwhile I’m becoming more aware of the advance of nature. I’m over forty five now so fifty is on the approaching horizon. I’m essentially not particularly vain but I do want to keep healthy while ensuring I do what I can to help my body and cells to keep repairing and sustaining.

I also know that collagen which gives our skin elasticity declines as we get older. So I decided to do some research to see what I could be doing to help my skin.

Firstly I didn’t want a product based route. I’m not convinced that external remedies of that kind can do as much as feeding your skin properly.

I found a really useful website and was very pleasantly surprised.

http://www.healthcentral.com/skin-care/c/742375/55533/increase-eating/

Among the long list there I found plenty of foods that we already eat. It was like a recommendation supporting many of the vegetarian habits we have.

Soy products of all kinds.

Dark green vegetables are also excellent for skin so that means our delicious kale recipe is ideal.

Beans are something else we include in our diet very regularly.

Red fruits and vegetables are there on a daily basis with their exciting lycopenes. And there’s plenty of variety.
Vitamin C features in our diet too.

Prunes are definitely something we’ll need to look out for but blue berries are something else we grow.

Omega Acids from Nuts such as cashews, pecans, almonds and Brazil nuts get featured.

And I was pleased to see Flaxseed and omega-3 getting a mention of course.

I’m happy about cucumber and sweet potato but celery won’t be on my list as I can’t stand the stuff.

And turkey won’t be on my plate any time soon.

When I saw Chocolate was good for your skin I was particularly pleased!

I’m not sure I can include Manuka honey as the air miles are pretty negative to bring it all the way from New Zealand but maybe there will be a European source one day.

Rose hips would be a good project to start working on as I’ve thought about foraging for these too.

Avocado Oil could be another interesting new adventure.

So the good news is I think my habits are already helping my skin and I can easily add one or two more.

Pass the prunes!

Does it matter if the leafy greens are purple?

30 comments on “Saggy old Cloth cat: What about the wrinkles?

  1. Grower
    September 29, 2014

    I’ve been working a bit on finding alternatives to things like the cleaners we use once the current supply is used up. As to skin, avoiding overexposure to sun is one of the very best things one can do. I found that out too late and it’s hard for someone like me who loves to be outdoors so much!

    Like

  2. lizard100
    September 29, 2014

    I’m often told I look younger than my age so I’m convinced part of it is eating the right stuff. But you’re right about keeping out of the sun. That’s a risky business. Hats and sunglasses all the way!

    Like

  3. silverbells2012
    September 29, 2014

    Prunes = dried plums. Can’t remember if you have any of these already?

    The thing I’m not sure about on that list is soya. I did a short course on nutrition earlier in the year, where the safety of soya products was questioned a little. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the premise for the concern but an older friend of mine who knows everything about creating a healthier person and a healthier planet won’t touch it.

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 29, 2014

      Yes. Soya does get a negative press. I eat it in moderation. There’s something about fermentation and that’s better apparently.

      Like

  4. Rambling Woods
    September 30, 2014

    I too am told I look younger than 58…. Stayed out of the sun as you said

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Frugal Hausfrau
    September 30, 2014

    I am absolutely convinced that creams and lotions don’t do anything but temporarily make the skin look smoother – much like using furniture polish. I think that nourishing from the inside is the way to go! Of course, sometimes my skin gets dry and itchy, then that’s a bit of a different matter.

    My four year younger sister uses all kinds of stuff, and I wouldn’t say this if I thought she might see it, but I think she looks older than me. When I last visited her she showed me her “firming” lotion. I think in the long run that stuff all has detrimental effects, is bad for animals (testing) the environment, our skin and our pocketbooks!

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 30, 2014

      Definitely. I don’t have a sister plenty of women who are younger than me and use loads of stuff don’t necessarily get the results.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Frugal Hausfrau
    September 30, 2014

    Well, this was a great post. I’m even wondering if some of the lotions and junk and years of heavy make up actually changes and prematurely ages the skin and has a long term detrimental effect. At least it seems so to me.

    Perhaps tmi, but unless I’m actually dirty, like working in the garden or yard, I often just use soap on the “important” parts, and just rinse the rest of me off in the shower. I figure it’s best to subject the skin to as few chemicals as possible and keep the natural oils intact.

    And to tell ya the truth, if I’m doing heavy or dirty work, like going on a bike ride or working outside, I figure I’m going to take a shower afterwards, so I don’t even bother with deoderant – since it doesn’t seem to work anyway under those circumstances. And I never wear it when I just around the house…usually just if I’m going somewhere and dressed nicely and am amongst more civilized people! No one’s ever complained, so I *think* I’m ok! Hope so, at least! And of course, I couldn’t really get by with that, I don’t think when I was younger.

    I did notice an odd thing – my clothing NEVER really gets discolored under the arms like it used to when I wore deoderant daily…I would have thought it would have been just the opposite.

    All that being said, I’m vain enough to color my hair! Talk about a chemical stew!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      September 30, 2014

      I’m convinced many of these things do impact like this. I now use a deodorant that’s very simple and I’m sure I smell less and my clothes aren’t affected as much.
      So many things we are convinced we need may be negative.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award | Frugal Hausfrau

  8. Green Bee
    October 1, 2014

    I use almond oil as a moisturiser at night and also great for keeping nails strong.

    Like

    • lizard100
      October 2, 2014

      Sounds like a good tip!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Green Bee
        October 2, 2014

        My hairdresser says it works as a natural hair mask too but requires at least 3 rinses to get it out……losing all that water down the plug hole has stopped me from trying it out.

        Like

      • lizard100
        October 2, 2014

        I don’t fancy that. I’ve given up shampoo. Just water here. Hair masks itself.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Green Bee
        October 2, 2014

        I saw that. How does that work for you? I have a mane of hair and can’t imagine using just water… Having said that none of the ‘natural’ shampoos seem to be very natural. So many dilemmas…

        Like

      • lizard100
        October 2, 2014

        You almost just need to try it. It’s not what you’d imagine at all.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        October 2, 2014

        At the beginning I used a dry shampoo of cocoa and corn flour a few times but now it’s water all the way.

        Like

      • Green Bee
        October 2, 2014

        Sorry for the repeated replies. I’m going to think about it. Better behaved hair is the holy grail for me. Thanks for the feedback 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Green Bee
    October 2, 2014

    Does just water do the trick? I have a lot of hair and can’t imagine how that would work for my mane….having said that I am concious about what shampoo I’m using. Even the ‘natural’ ones don’t appear to be very natural….

    Like

    • lizard100
      October 2, 2014

      Yep. I’m amazed. It took a few weeks to adjust. And having a really good brush makes a big difference but I haven’t used shampoo for six months and it’s brilliant. My hair has changed. But it’s better behaved and now just doesn’t get properly greasy. It’s more consistent too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2014 by in grow your own, vegetarian and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,718 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

mumercise

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

