Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

A Lizard’s Tale

It’s a strange day when a child in your class produces one of these in the middle of your lesson.

IMG_7855.JPG

The poor creature was still alive, thank goodness. I gave it a couple of drips of water.

So it was a case of one lizard rescues another.

(I guess technically, it’s a newt but I had to enjoy the coincidence with my nickname.)

IMG_7856.JPG

I transferred it into a plastic cup for two reasons. Firstly I know that the heat of my hand might not be beneficial but also because I was worried about the effect of the natural oil on my skin. I covered it up to protect against sunlight too.

And then I transferred it to an area of the school grounds where footfall is zero.

IMG_7859.JPG

IMG_7858.JPG

Hope the little fella’s going to be okay.

12 comments on “A Lizard’s Tale

  1. AnnetteM
    September 27, 2014

    I wonder what he thought when his whole world turned pink!

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 27, 2014

      I don’t know. I just hope he was okay after I put him outside.

      Like

      • AnnetteM
        September 27, 2014

        I would think so. Did the child just find it in the classroom or had it been captured earlier?

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 27, 2014

        It seems one or two have been finding them in the grounds and putting them in their pockets. I figured the pink would be calming and it was the only thing I could find!

        Like

  2. ladyofthecakes
    September 27, 2014

    Was he pissed…? šŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Rambling Woods
    September 28, 2014

    Yea that you knew what to do

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim in Fiji
    September 29, 2014

    sweet little creature – I’m glad you were able to get him to a place of safety.

    Like

  5. lizard100
    September 29, 2014

    It’s hard to know what happened to him but I hope he’s okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2014 by in conservation and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,995 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

