Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

I’m a reader

I devour text. I had to stop buying books on more than one occasion because of the cost vs short term benefit.

I stuck to second hand books for a long time to steady that. Now it’s more about space and use of environmental resources.

When I’m frustrated by my location I take respite in the written word.

Time pressure can get in the way too.

These days I have a few good options.

A digital reader helps take the space pressure off and is often a cheaper way to read.

I also use a great free resource from Daily Lit.

This website can send you a book in installments daily. You chose the frequency and timing.

Fifteen minutes of fiction every day

They have lots of choice and free classics in large numbers.

It really helps the time issue as a small piece or reading arrives in your mail box.

21 comments on “I’m a reader

  1. Uncle Spike
    September 25, 2014

    I so rarely find the time to read…. I need peace and quiet, no tv, no talking; ofetn that means 1-2 books a year sat on a beach đŸ™‚

    Like

  2. AnnetteM
    September 25, 2014

    I have a kindle which I use on holiday, but I have to admit I still prefer to hold a real book. Also I never remember what I am reading or have read as you don’t see the cover any more!

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 25, 2014

      That’s a funny side to it. Is bit thought of that. I prefer my kindle physically. If I put it down the pages don’t fly out of position.

      Like

      • AnnetteM
        September 25, 2014

        That is the good side to it.

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 25, 2014

        True. I’ve set mine so the display is landscape instead of portrait and I really like it that way.

        Like

      • AnnetteM
        September 25, 2014

        I never thought of that!

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 25, 2014

        It’s much better that way. Then the cover can act as a rest to stand it up too. You can lean it on things and just touch it to turn the page. Also adjusting the text size is very good.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna
    September 25, 2014

    I’ve been visiting the library a lot, definitely saves on space when you know the books are only in your life for 3 weeks!

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 25, 2014

      That’s true too. I wish some other things were only in my life for three weeks.

      Like

  4. ladyofthecakes
    September 25, 2014

    Ooooh, me too… BOOOOOOKS! I’ve virtually stopped buying paper books, though, coz I can’t be moving house every time with 50+ boxes of books! Also, I can download books in four languages rather than having to go out hunting for them.

    My latest discovery here in Toledo is a restaurant bar/restaurant with a large bookshelf, where they let you take your read books and swap them, free of charge, for theirs. I love the concept! A ‘swap library’ …

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 25, 2014

      Oooh we have a swap library at work. I never thought a out that. Need to write a post! I’ve got tonnes of books too.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Flighty
    September 25, 2014

    I’m a lifelong reader and I’m always reading several books at any one time. I’ve used the public library for as long as I can remember visiting one every week, and also buy a handful of second-hand paperbacks a month. I also have a Kobo Mini that I don’t use much as I much prefer proper books. xx

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 25, 2014

      All good. Our libraries are paid but I still think it’s a great option!

      Like

  6. Old Things R New
    September 25, 2014

    I read both paper, hardback and ebook. Love them all!! My library online catalog become too diffcult to deal with so now I download more than I borrow.

    Like

  7. Rambling Woods
    September 26, 2014

    I Am reading a book about bees right now and another about WW2 and some fiction…love to read

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 27, 2014

      That’s great. I’m reading Daniel Deronda and the mayor of caster bridge.

      Like

  8. mjh333
    November 19, 2014

    I rarely find time to read, it can take me a long time to read a book. With reading blogs and my study journal etc on top. As you can tell i’m behind on the blog reading too. But when i get time I feel the benefits for sure, but it’s getting the time. The daily lit looks good maybe when study is over and I have time on my hands (that’ll be the day) I’d kinda rather be busy though, all good enjoyable things :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      November 19, 2014

      Got to make time for the things you enjoy. Otherwise life doesnt have mych fun. Daily lit can give tou five minutes a day in bite size pieces.

      Like

  9. mjh333
    November 19, 2014

    I got a book i do that with, i kinda prefer a physical book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2014 by in Art and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,242 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

