Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Second Hand Shoes

IMG_7070.JPG

When I was a child, it was common practice to give clothes more than one life.

We were given the tall girl and boy across the street’s outgrown trousers.

When we grew out of our clothes they went to our cousins. It was nice to see that favorite jumper (sweater) when we visited. getting another wear. Then it might appear at a second cousins house the following year.

Everyone knew that children’s clothes should be worn by more than one person in order to get good value from them.

Two years ago I pledged not to buy new clothes for a year. Since then the new garments in my wardrobe amount to less than five.

In that period of time I’ve managed to give up buying clothes comfortably. It’s not something that I want to do anymore.

But I do buy secondhand clothes once in a while. And people give me clothes they no longer want. I have found that I’m no longer that bothered about buying clothes and because I’m lucky enough to have quite a few clothes in my wardrobe it’s something that no longer that I do.

The funny thing is that I’ve realized it’s just another modern habit that isn’t really necessary. I used to shop from boredom with existing clothes or because I was tempted by a colour of a print.

Now I’ve learned to shop my wardrobe I make far better use of clothes that might have lain in a drawer with the labels still on unworn.

Just habits.

I’m starting to find that the second hand clothes don’t really tempt me either now. I’ve really developed a sense that I don’t need more.

The habit has spread to other shopping too.

What’s more I’ve gained time. Shopping is a time consuming thing. I guess I wanted to share my pride that I’ve broken another consumer habit that commonly wastes precious resources.

When was the last time we each wore out a garment?

Have you broken any consumerist habits lately?

27 comments on “Second Hand Shoes

  1. Ellen Hawley
    September 14, 2014

    I do actually wear clothes out. I wear my jeans until I have to downgrade them to gardening clothes, then wear them until they’re no help even for that, at which point there isn’t enough left to pass along. Ditto for running shoes–which I wear for walking, and for just about anything else. It helps, though, that I’ve gone completely post-fashion, so if anything I own ever was in style I didn’t really know about it. I’ve always been dyslexic about fashion, so stepping aside has been a real relief.

    But I will confess, I’m not immune to the lure of something new now and then.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      September 14, 2014

      That’s fantastic I do like the idea of dyslexic fashion sense too!

      Like

    • silverbells2012
      September 14, 2014

      Me too! Even before I thought of sustainability, I never had the money for an ever-expanding wardrobe, so I treasured all my clothes and was very choosy about what I purchased in the first place!

      As for children’s clothes, most of the stuff my daughter wears is hand-me-downs. It is hard to pass them on, though, as people can be quite snooty about second hand.

      Like

      • lizard100
        September 14, 2014

        Can’t imagine what the problem is. After all everyday our clothes aren’t new. We wore them already.

        Like

    • Lindsay (treadingmyownpath)
      September 16, 2014

      Haha Ellen, I do that too, although sometimes it seems that the only clothes I have are “gardening/round the house” clothes.. they all seem to wear out at the same time! I agree with you about the fashion thing too. I had some jeans with HUUUUGE holes in the knees but i kept wearing them as they were so comfy, and people started commenting on how trendy they were. Next thing, someone is showing me a magazine with glamourpusses all wearing massively ripped jeans! I’m sure it didn’t last long as a fashion though, the knees are very drafty like that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        September 16, 2014

        There you go. Another benefit: vintage!

        Like

  2. lindaswildlifegarden
    September 14, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Thank you for sharing

    Like

  3. BerLinda
    September 14, 2014

    I realised how much unnecessary stuff I had when I moved – now I have one of everything, if that 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      September 14, 2014

      I need to do far more clearing out. It’s terrible. Well done berlingo!

      Liked by 1 person

      • BerLinda
        September 14, 2014

        Ha ha! Well, I really had no choice! As it was, my suitcase was still around 30 kilos I reckon!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        September 14, 2014

        Yes but only to have 30kg in your life is good. Room for more leopard print. In Berlin it will be PVC instead!

        Like

      • BerLinda
        September 14, 2014

        There’s a shop that sells all sorts of weird clothes next door – leopard print bustiers included 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        September 14, 2014

        Red PVC is your next challenge!

        Like

      • BerLinda
        September 14, 2014

        Christ, better get back to doing those sit-ups and lunges!

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 14, 2014

        Handbags? Raincoats? Wedges? Not sure what you were thinking?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ontheedgegardening
    September 14, 2014

    All true and I can be as guilty as many. Shopping is just another drug, a quick high then boredom. I am increasingly irritated by too much “stuff” around the house, often nice “stuff” but becoming a little suffocating. Not sure I could ever do “minimal” but I definitely need to clear out. You have inspired me to make a start!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      September 14, 2014

      I need to clear out too. It’s going to be a winter challenge. I particularly have when I find something I forgot I owned that I would’ve needed the week before. It’s maddening.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. argentumvulgaris
    September 14, 2014

    My mother had a boxottoman, always smelled of naphtha, that all my clothes went into until they could be handed down to my little brother, event eh they were returned to the smell of naphtha and then my little sister got some of them too. Shoes, we only ever had new shoes for school, we always had hand-me-downs from our oodles of cousins.

    AV

    Liked by 2 people

    • lizard100
      September 14, 2014

      All great habits. It’s crazy that we haven’t sustained these habits into the future.

      Like

      • argentumvulgaris
        September 15, 2014

        A though I have often espoused… We have become a lazy, self-centred, wasteful society.

        AV

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        September 15, 2014

        All the values are upside down

        Like

  6. Green Bee
    September 14, 2014

    Well done! I love clothes and shopping for clothes but despise waste so over the years I have become choosy about what I buy. I try to buy ‘well’ (which doesn’t necessarily mean spending a lot of money) and the clothes invariably stay in my wardrobe for years. As soon as there is a special occasion I very rarely need to buy something new. I can choose from something I bought in the last 15 yrs. Anything I no longer want or the kids grow out of get passed along to friends & worn out clothes go to recyling but Charity shops get a lot of attention from me!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ASofterApproach
    September 15, 2014

    Very interesting read for sure. Be sure to check out my blog about thrifting for income as a stay at home father. I too believe that pre-owned clothing is a positive thing.

    Like

  8. gardensunshine
    September 15, 2014

    Hmm. Well i commend you on this. i do think it is great. We all have too many clothes… but be careful that you don’t neglect yourself! I actually make myself go shopping for one after noon 4 times a year to the sales to see how i can add to my wardrobe to stay current. I always get compliments and for me it is a real effort to try to stay current, but then again i guess that is your point that all that effort is dumb. I try to keep at it little by little so i don’t panic anymore when i have to look nice. (i am at home most of the time so i really don’t need to look good)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. quarteracrelifestyle
    September 16, 2014

    I am exactly the same. Where once I used to trawl second hand shops for nice clothes as a hobby now I feel no need to buy even those. Now I actually feel you just need clothes so you are not naked and to keep you warm, it doesn’t matter what clothes they are. My last job I worked from an office with 4 other women who spent the first 15 minutes of each day comparing clothes and telling each other how nice they looked and honestly I struggled with that sort of environment and conversation – nothing in it that appealed at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2014 by in recycling and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,204 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

