Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

If we were having coffee….

If we were having coffee, (tea again) I’d be so excited I would barely sit still. The excitement would make it hard to let you get a word in as I gabbled enthusiastically about the change in political awareness in the UK just now.

The referendum for Scottish independence has really had an incredible week, you see, and it even starts to look as if the yes vote could be onto something.

And my tea would be cold, as I tried to explain that I’m excited because politics in the UK has been so darn flat and dull for twenty years, that to see the passion and debate there just now has been unbelievable.

I’m so supportive of democracy this is life changing. History is being written and the UK will never be the same regardless of the outcome.

They’re saying the genie is out of the box and cannot go back in.

Then I’d be excited about the performance of Romeo and Juliet I’ve just seen in the open air.

Having been lucky enough to see Macbeth last week I’m on a double Shakespearean role, you see.

The Romeo and Juliet performance by The Lord Chamberlain’s Men was particularly impressive for the all male cast you see.

In previous performances that I’ve seen by them the female roles weren’t too significant in their femaleness. Which sounds odd for Macbeth but Lady Macbeth is often alone on stags and while passionate her femaleness isn’t as significant as Juliet’s to me.

But to watch two men in the leading roles tonight was very powerful indeed. I was entranced by the chemistry between the actors. Brilliant!

Meanwhile the whole performance was fast and furious with a great energy and starlit staging.

When I talk about Shakespeare over coffee I’m guaranteed to get carried away!

IMG_7638-0.JPG

8 comments on “If we were having coffee….

  1. BerLinda
    September 13, 2014

    I love a bit of passion, me 😉

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 13, 2014

      No doubt. I’m going to try and see Shakespeare in the open air in other places now. Managed malta last year. That was definitely warmer!

      Like

      • BerLinda
        September 13, 2014

        Oh cool! Great idea! I’ll let you know if I hear of anything in Berlin 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 13, 2014

        Now that’s a good idea!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. AnnetteM
    September 14, 2014

    Unfortunately those of us that don’t want to see a break up of the United Kingdom for many reasons, are not so much excited as concerned. It is looking as if it will be very close and so half the residents of Scotland are going to be unhappy whatever the result. I can see it could be exciting looking at it from outside, but I am not so sure it is from where I am sitting.

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 14, 2014

      I’m excited about the impact of this on the whole of UK politics which badly needs to progress. The UK has been governed for far too long by unrepresentative groups, so often millionaires with no contact with the people. But I do hope the change is undertaken carefully. The polls unfortunately don’t seem to help only the actual result will give a true picture. Either way a topic so long debated is reaching a new phase.

      Like

      • AnnetteM
        September 15, 2014

        It certainly is that. I don’t think there will be many of us sleeping early on Thursday night.
        What I think the polls are showing is how many people have had their original feelings changed by the pure charisma of politicians. But you are right, polls are just polls and people can say what they like without any real consequences. We will have to wait and see what they say on the day.
        I think you would enjoy being up here at the moment. Everybody is talking politics – myself included!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lizard100
    September 15, 2014

    Only a few more days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2014 by in Blogging and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,265 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,583 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

