Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Light my fire

This post feels a bit dumb. We have a great refurbished wood stove in our house.

When we moved in there was a brick fireplace that wasn’t very pretty and no hearth so we decided to fit a fire as the chimney and fireplace were still in place.

The stove was very compact as our living space is small and we didn’t want to add a huge feature.

In the end we stood the stove on a metal constructed platform that the ole household genius made. This made it possible to fit the stove close to the wall, it protected our wooden floor and also means you can stand very close to the fire when it’s not in use.

Meanwhile, ten years later, I’ve never lit the fire. I know how to make a fire, of course, but someone else normally does it. The stove is narrow and confined and I wasn’t sure how to do it in the space.

So I decided to learn.

First I crumpled some pages from the old phone book, about ten sheets. I placed them at the back of the fire.

IMG_7141.JPG

Then I built a ramp of twigs on top of the papers. These are raspberry twigs from the allotment. Autumn fruiting raspberries are cut right down to ground level every year. They make great fire starters.

IMG_7173.JPG

We split some wood to make sticks and smaller kindling.

IMG_7139.JPG

With the kindling wood on hand, I lit the paper and twigs. Then added the thin wood to create a base for the fire.

As the flames took hold of the small wood I could add two large pieces. The most important job is to monitor the fire. While it is establishing the stove has a vent. The vent is kept open so that the oxygen supply feeds the fire until the larger pieces of wood start to burn properly.

Every half an hour or so more wood can be added. the vent can be closed so the wood burns more slowly.

IMG_7175.JPG

Once the fire is established we use this conductive fan to move heat around our space. It runs from the heat and is silent.

There’s a film of it working here.

Time to put the kettle on.

IMG_7174.JPG

10 comments on “Light my fire

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    September 5, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome Liz have a blessed day

    Like

  2. Expat Eye
    September 5, 2014

    Reminds me of my granny’s house πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. bcparkison
    September 5, 2014

    Good for you.,Everyone should know how to set a fire.

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 5, 2014

      I’ve just not tried in such a confined space before. It’s very useful though.

      Like

  4. pobept
    September 6, 2014

    πŸ™‚ I built a small cabin wood stove for an artist friend of mins sometime back. I’ll post a picture one of these days.
    Have a Happy Warm home

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2014 by in allotment, environment, recycling, self sufficiency and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,242 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,584 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Liz Jones Post Grad blog 2017

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste, Plastic Free and Sustainable Living

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

