Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Crab Apple and Chilli Jelly

IMG_6791.JPG

I realised recently that I haven’t shared my crab apple and chilli experience.

And the crazy thing is that I made a film of it.

you tube

How daft is that?

We scrumped the apples from the tree of a neighbour and a tree I posted about recently.

15 comments on “Crab Apple and Chilli Jelly

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    September 4, 2014

    Lets see the video please and thank you for sharing Liz

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lindaswildlifegarden
    September 4, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome

    Like

  3. Frugal Hausfrau
    September 4, 2014

    I love Crabapple jelly – it’s one of my favorites. What kind of Chille did you use? I’m very curious.

    Like

  4. lizard100
    September 4, 2014

    Sorry folks. They changed the app recently and the way of inserting video isn’t what it was.
    So I’ve now put the embed code back in now.

    Like

  5. Rambling Woods
    September 6, 2014

    Scrumped…. Another new word….I liked the video

    Like

  6. Frugal Hausfrau
    September 8, 2014

    I think the video wasn’t up when I first looked. That’s a great idea to invert the cup in the bowl and rest the colander on it! I used to do a lot more canning and had a little gadget that held a bag, but it’s long since been passed on to my daughter. I like the clothes pin idea, too.

    This looks so good, and I can see now it’s not like my sweet hot jelly I make, but must have a lot of the same type of sweet hot flavor – only it must have more dimension from the crab apples! Thanks for posting and I love the video idea. I’ve been thinking of doing some videos, too, at my brother’s urging! We’ll see…

    You did a good job. Did you have to rig up special lighting?

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 8, 2014

      Thanks very much. No special lighting. I film and photograph everything with my iPhone. I get lazy about using other gadgets. The important thing is to have the window at my back. I sometimes use a mini tripod and that’s it. Getting in close too.

      Like

      • Frugal Hausfrau
        September 8, 2014

        Thanks! It looks great! I haven’t done videos with my food, but have done several with my dog. I noticed they seem to be dark for the most part. I’m glad you posted and I think I’ll try a couple. Man, I need an I phone!

        You might get a kick out of them, here’s one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E–BYQUSMU8

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 8, 2014

        Loved it. I’ll need to work a lot harder on training the chickens! I watched my own film again after I read your comment. Food would be easier because in this film you had the contrast of the living room against the brighter kitchen. If you’re making film. You need all the lights on or better still to be well lit by windows. But ‘dark’ films are made by contrast between light and dark. In this film it actually benefits the action because gibson’s journey to the fridge is very important. As is the light in the fridge. That adds to the story!

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 8, 2014

        The other key is positioning the camera.

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 8, 2014

        He’s a lovely dog. The sock film is lovely.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2014 by in homestead and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,883 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

