Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Grow your own Curry!

It’s amazing to make a dish from completely from things that you’ve grown yourself.

That’s what I did today.

Achocha curry may not be something that you’ve heard of. (The voice recognition had it down as a teacher curry!)

IMG_7112.JPG
I split the achocha pods, scoped out the seeds and chopped them.

And it’s not something I’ve ever tried.
So we shall see what it actually tastes like later.

But more to the point it contains potatoes, onions, garlic, chillis, coriander and tomatoes that we’ve grown.

IMG_7113.JPG

I found the recipe on with the cottage so I’m not going to write it here but that was my reference point.

The achocha was something we grew for the first time this year. The seeds came from the heritage seed library.

The ones I collected today will be dried and stirred for next year. As you can see from the photo, they are strange looking black seeds.

The only ingredient that didn’t come from our patch was the turmeric powder.

The plan is that I’m going to then make gluten free flatbreads to go with it using a tortilla recipe.
I’ll be putting that in another post soon.

17 comments on “Grow your own Curry!

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    September 3, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome and thank you for sharing Liz

    Like

  2. Ellen Hawley
    September 3, 2014

    A friend gave me an achocha plant a couple of years ago. I never got to taste the stuff, but the slugs loved it.

    Like

  3. Globalresidence
    September 3, 2014

    Love the idea! 🙂

    Like

  4. cheergerm
    September 3, 2014

    Nice work!

    Like

  5. Grower
    September 3, 2014

    That is a new veg to me. I just did a little reading on it and it appeals to me because it is a climber. I like plants that don’t hog up a lot of space. Off for more research!

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 3, 2014

      It’s not great raw but is a bit like green pepper without the aftertaste in curries. It’s prolific and a great climber.

      Like

  6. Benjamin
    September 3, 2014

    Interesting! What does the Achocha plant itself look like?

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 3, 2014

      It is a strong climber with leaves that are similar to that of the cannabis plant. Each has five fingers from a central point. It’s attractive.

      Like

  7. bcparkison
    September 3, 2014

    This is anew one for me. Will have to look into it more. thanks.

    Like

  8. Rambling Woods
    September 4, 2014

    I wish spices and I could get along better…but we don’t…..darn it

    Like

    • lizard100
      September 4, 2014

      Is it possible to leave out the heat and keep the flavour?

      Like

      • Rambling Woods
        September 4, 2014

        Possibly…something to try anyway

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 4, 2014

        I wonder if the turmeric for example would be good on its own?

        Like

      • Rambling Woods
        September 4, 2014

        In my past life, I took yoga classes at our local Himalayan Institute and took one cooking class… vegetarian… the family didn’t like what I made and I am trying to remember the spices, but turmeric was one. I had issues with the food myself even though they were not hot nor very spiced. I think it may be the result of the beginning of my auto-immune disease as there are foods I can’t tolerate at all. So I am the odd one here…just strange as usual 🙂

        Like

      • lizard100
        September 4, 2014

        That’s a shame. It’s frustrating when choices are limited.

        Like

  9. Pingback: Allotment September update: Special treats | Green Lizard's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2014 by in vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,204 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,585 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

Frogs-Snails-Geckotails

Our homeschool journey one adventure at a time

Hannah Fearless

Nerdy thoughts and musings

edifiedlistener

Be well, be edified and enjoy!

