Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

If we were having coffee…. Link up with GeneO

So I’ve never done this before but that’s what blogging’s for.
If we were having coffee link ups are aimed at sharing with other bloggers. Here’s my thoughts for Just GeneO’

I’d ask for tea, most likely, ideally fresh mint tea. I like it with honey, if possible.

I’d like to talk about the achievements this last few days. In spite of dreadful, torrential, unpredictable, frequent bouts of rain, we’ve spruced up our house outside a great deal.

IMG_6962-1.JPG

IMG_6961.JPG

This isn’t something that happens very often as there’s always plenty to do with allotments and stuff.

It was all an accident. We had a new brush with wire in it. It was calling my name so we started on the mossy driveway.

Over coffee mint tea, I’d also find it impossible to mention the pride I have in reaching five hundred followers this week and my highest likes day on my blog. It’s a weird feeling imagining the five hundred people, who they are and why they chose to follow me.

It’s an odd thing blogging. I liken it to sitting in an empty room talking. But then apparently there’s people there who choose to hear you.

I suppose the having coffee idea is similar too. It’s disjointed but someone can choose to hear after the fact.

Is want to know what you think of that silent blogging voice. I think it makes me fearless as no one can interrupt. I haven’t actually given you a chance to get a word in.

I’d also want to ask over this cup of coffee what happens next. Your blog is a few months older than mine. Like a toddler I wonder what it can be expected to do in the next phase of it’s life.

I’d want to tell you all about the goji berry plant in the garden. In spite of the furious efforts of the chickens it’s managed to grow more leaves this last two weeks. So I think it will survive.

While the rain continues I’ve dedicated time indoors to renaming and attaching all the 1200 photos in my blog. I’ve also learned to watermark them without too much effort and wish that is started earlier. I also wish I’d worked out whether it’s the WordPress app or my chosen theme that isn’t attaching them automatically. That’s a puzzle that the internet hasn’t solved for me yet.

Meanwhile we also took some time out at a great sculpture museum and a botanical garden.

Both experiences in the fresh air and open space helped challenge the rain.

IMG_6963.JPG

IMG_6967.JPG

IMG_6964.JPG

18 comments on “If we were having coffee…. Link up with GeneO

  1. ladyofthecakes
    August 23, 2014

    Ooooh, mint tea 🙂 I love it! Brought back a big bag of dried mint leaves from Germany with me, from a village where it was once grown commercially. It’s ‘pharmaceutical grade’, with a high content of whatever phytochemicals make it potent enough, and you can certainly taste it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Expat Eye
    August 23, 2014

    Love the photo of you with the sculpture! Brilliant! 🙂
    And by the way ‘word’ in 😉 And I feel the same about blogging – it’s lovely throwing your random stream of consciousness out there – but knowing people are reading it is the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      August 24, 2014

      It’s like talking to yourself with an audience. Sort of weird! I have a friend who always takes photos interacting with objects/sights on trips instead of just standing in front of them. It’s really clever but takes a bit of thought. Other than the old ‘act like you’re propping up the leaning tower’ I can’t ever think what to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Expat Eye
        August 24, 2014

        Yeah, and pricking your finger on the Taj Mahal, etc. Sounds like a great idea though!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizard100
        August 24, 2014

        It’s either that of standing there grinning like a lemon so I reckon I’ll give it a go more often.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Leila Boukarim
    August 24, 2014

    Congratulations on your blog achievements! It’s hard work, this blogging stuff, so I know how exciting this must be!

    I’ve just followed you, so make it 501!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 24, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome and well dome Liz have a blessed week

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gene'O
    August 24, 2014

    Awesome photos, and congrats on reaching 500. As for what to expect from the next stage, it’s hard to say. A few months’ difference in the age of a blog doesn’t mean very much. If you’re just emerging from toddlerhood, I haven’t made it to adolescence yet.

    And you’ll find that follower count doesn’t necessarily translate the same way on every blog. One blogger I know took almost a year to reached 500 WordPress followers and in that time he generated over 175K page views without posting every day. I don’t know how he did it and haven’t asked. I’m happy for him, but the point is, strange things happen on blogs, and they’re pretty unpredictable.

    I’d say it will depend on how good your posts are in the next little while, how many people you can get talking, and whether or not you can find easy ways to reach out into other social media. To the extent that we’ve been successful, it’s because we take an interest in people and interact with the ones who really follow us often. That doesn’t always mean on the blogs.

    For a person with a typical work/family life who also blogs consistently, visiting even ten blogs a day is quite a feat. Once I got to the point where I was able to sit down and make a list of 200 blogs I recognize and consider top-quality, I realized there were tons of people I’d love to interact with more that I was only touching base with every two months. This is why I love Twitter so much. It gives me the ability to say “hi, how are you?” to scores of bloggers in a given week who would otherwise lose me from their radar or wonder where the heck I went.

    best of luck!

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 24, 2014

      Thanks. Those points are all useful. I’ve a friend who had 200,000 hits in a couple of years. I couldn’t see it but he wrote more topical things. It’s just a case of doing what we can I reckon. For me stats aren’t as important as connections but it is nice to see the audience gradually grow.

      Like

  6. Gene'O
    August 24, 2014

    One more thing. I need to learn to watermark my photos, too. This is something I also wish I’d started doing earlier. I’m doing the credit in captions at the moment. What do you mean by not attaching automatically? My process is to upload the photo to the image library, the insert it at the cursor with the alignment I want, etc.Is there some other way to do it?

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 24, 2014

      In the mobile app photos inserted in a post remain unattached in the media gallery. So currently they all need to be assigned to their post in the gallery manually. It’s a mobile app thing. As I’m renaming all photos at the moment to have searchable names it’s not much more to assign them to posts. The mobile app team are working on better media tools for the next update.

      Liked by 1 person

    • lizard100
      August 24, 2014

      I forgot to answer the first bit. I’m watermarking now with an app. It’s simple. It does each photo desperately bug it means I select photos then write the post. It’s not terrible.

      Like

  7. Silver Threading
    August 24, 2014

    Nice! I loved it!

    Like

  8. Rambling Woods
    August 25, 2014

    The only photos that I have to attach are those used in other areas of the blog and not to a post..hmmmm

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 25, 2014

      It’s the mobile app. But they’re working on it apparently …

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2014 by in Art, Blogging and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,884 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,588 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

