Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

It’s a Walk in the Park!

IMG_5695.JPG

I should’ve published this as a ‘Guess what this is?

Of course you’re clever people so I don’t need to explain. But to keep the suspense I’ll save the answer for a bit.

Clever town planning has struck again in My district.

In a bygone age this area of housing had a very different purpose. It’s been redesigned now to incorporate housing and recreational use but the history of the place has been registered here too.

IMG_5692.JPG

IMG_5690.JPG

This pillar shows images of the farming and food production that used to dominate the district. The Netherlands is densely populated and the way that expansion has been undertaken is very inspiring.

IMG_5694.JPG

This lifting bridge is also part of the park land. A clear memory of the past which enhances the neighbourhood too. For a neighbourhood that will have been developed since the 1970s it has retained character and history.

And that post?

It’s a public play area for korfball.

9 comments on “It’s a Walk in the Park!

  1. TheDigger
    August 18, 2014

    I knew it! But I have friends in the Netherlands that I’ve visited many times, so I had a head start 😉

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 18, 2014

      That’s why I thought best to just give the answer!

      Like

  2. AnnetteM
    August 18, 2014

    Well, I would never have got it. In fact I had to Google it to find out what korfball was. Interesting to find out that there is a mixed gender league, an all women league but no all men league! Interesting too, to note the geographical divide with the mixed gender game being played mostly in the north while the all female game is usually found in the South of the Netherlands. It was the same with lacrosse which I played. In the south of England it was usually played by females and it was only when I lived in Nottingham (in the Midlands) that I found out that men played it too and what is more the men had different size sticks for the different positions whereas we used one size for all positions. I expect things have changed now as I am talking about more than forty years ago!

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 18, 2014

      Thanks for this. I’m really chuffed you were inspired to look into it. Korfball is a very special Dutch thing. I believe they’ve tried to bring it to other countries but with limited success. We do also gave free football posts etc but I liked the fact it’s bit just that sort of sport. I didn’t know about the ‘no all male’ league. That’s great. Yesterday England win the world womens rugby and a few weeks ago holland won the world womens hockey. It hardly got mentioned compared to the World Cup eh?

      Like

      • AnnetteM
        August 18, 2014

        That is one of the things I have enjoyed most about blogging – all the random stuff you learn. Congrats to England and Holland for their successes!

        Like

      • lizard100
        August 18, 2014

        Yep! Women’s sports are great!

        Like

  3. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 18, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome thanks for sharing have a blessed day

    Like

  4. Pingback: It's a Walk in the Park! | Gaia Gazette

  5. Pingback: A walk in the Park: number 2 | Green Lizard's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2014 by in environment and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 52,147 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,586 other followers

Instagram photos

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

one million lovely letters

for a lovely letter: onemillionlovelyletters@gmail.com

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

