Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

Now it’s a bit late in the year to start showcasing flowers but I like the sound of this theme. Carol over at May Dreams Gardens has a monthly link of blooming flowers in your garden.

I’ve been drawn to It for two reasons. First because is like to document what’s going on in my garden month but month and secondly I’ve grown increasingly curious about the contrast between my garden and others around the globe.

When it’s spring here it might be a totally different season somewhere else. But suffice to say there are blooms all over the world.

The buddlia in the from garden is making our bees and butterflies very welcome.

IMG_6544.JPG

Whilst up at the allotment the clematis that I thought had died has flowers again now. The dry spell may have been a distraction but she’s doing well.

IMG_6479.JPG

The echinacea is also okay but not as spectacular as last year. I may need to figure out what she is lacking.

IMG_6547.JPG

Now this is a flower curiosity. I cut these sunflowers to save seed. The following day the blacker bloom delivered pollen to the top of the flower. I’ve never noticed that before.

IMG_6545.JPG

IMG_6546.JPG

There are more blooms in the garden but the ferocious rain of the last couple of days has impacted on the display. So my last contribution is this artichoke. It’s going to take a while before it’s as impressive as the neighbours Beaty featured beneath but in glad these artichokes from last year are developing. I also probably will eat them rather than let them blossom.

IMG_6548.JPG

IMG_6480.JPG

The bloom meme is intended for 15th each month so here goes! A little late.

8 comments on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    August 16, 2014

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

    Like

  2. jenhumm116
    August 16, 2014

    Hi Green Lizard, I was just getting organised to respond to your comment on Duver Diary to say ‘of course you’re not too late for GBBD, come on down!’ And I see you’ve joined in already. Welcome! And love the photos.
    I’m increasingly fascinated by taking close ups – you see things completely differently.

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 16, 2014

      I think it’s cos I’m naturally very short sighted! But I’m often amazed by the way the photos turn out. Like everything about blogging I’m learning new things and photos hadn’t been something I expected to explore as much. Now I love it. Next month I’ll have this theme in mind and see how it influences what I take : ) thank you!

      Like

  3. mjh333
    August 16, 2014

    Great pictures, thanks for sharing

    Like

  4. Chloris
    August 16, 2014

    Great that you decided to join in. Lovely photos. Is your sunflower as black as it looks? I’ ve never seen one like that before.

    Like

    • lizard100
      August 16, 2014

      Yes. I planted a mixed sunflower packet and that type has a tinge of red in the petals but it is really dark. I love it.

      Like

  5. Lisa at Greenbow
    August 17, 2014

    I too like to see what is blooming all around the globe. You seem to have similar to what Ihave here at this time. Happy GBBD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2014 by in allotment, Gardening and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 51,722 hits

Categories in my blog

Follow Green Lizard's Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,589 other followers

Instagram photos

#wasp #fruit #allotment

Blogs I Follow

I've Been A Guest Blogger on Uncle Spike's Adventures

Top Rated

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Rogue Ginger - going zero waste and living plastic free Australia

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Beekeeping afloat

A blog of beekeeping and living afloat

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

